We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience All About Chinatown Tours
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
438
46
13
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
46
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum lunch own experiences excellent tour informative tour private tour small group history interests sf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 503 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Awesome tour! Awesome guide!
We took this tour with Linda on a Sunday morning, and really did not know what to expect. Party of 4: two adults and two teens (15 & 11). All of which had tremendous time. The content was interesting to all of us - Linda kept all of us interested, sharing details about the history of Chinatown, what makes it unique, the folks and lives of the community members, and much more. She also takes you to places you would not typically go into (Chinese medicine/pharmacy, various temples, etc.)
Highly recommended for all age groups, and for tourists who are interested in more than a superficial walk through the streets

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Me-Like-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

What a great way to explore Chinatown. Alan was a friendly, interesting and informative tour guide. Teens and younger kids might be tuning out a bit as some of the explanations are detailed, but there's nothing like a fresh fortune cookie to bring them back in. We found it all so interesting. We did not stay for lunch but the restaurant looked very nice and clean.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank efsilverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016

Our family of four participated in a walking tour of Chinatown with Linda Lee on our last day of our trip to SF. Kids, 15 and 11, loved it - Linda makes it fun and interesting. She tells the history through anecdotes and brings it to life. Kids loved the tromp through the Chinese medicine shop and the Fortune cookie factory. We also stayed for lunch with Linda at the end of the tour and had one of our best meals in SF - very worthwhile!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank docinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We participated in this tour with our 16 year old son, and guess what? We, including our son, had a great time. Linda Lee was funny, knowledgeable, engaging, entertaining, and by the end of the tour I felt like she was a family friend. We learned so much about Chinatown. We visited a Buddhist temple, a grocery, a fortune cookie factory, a store that caters to the ancestor worship, a school, and we watched a funeral procession. We got to see what Chinatown was like on a busy Sunday morning. We signed up for the dim sum lunch and I'm glad we did. After walking around for two hours, it was good to sit down and relax in a quiet restaurant. We had a chance to get to know the other participants in our tour group. It was very interesting to hear stories from people living in different parts of this country and from around the world. If you want to tour Chinatown, I highly recommend Linda's tour. You will not regret it.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank VCinNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

My friend and I found Linda Lee to be very knowledgeable about Chinatown. She is a native and had interesting anecdotes with specific examples of a true Chinese experience. There is an optional dim sum lunch which was good.
San Francisco is bustling with people and some uneven sidewalks and hills on this tour. If you have balance problems, this tour may not be for you. It is not strenuous. The market we visited was fascinating with produce (some exotic) and meat/fish options and people buying their daily provisions. I wish we had gone inside Old St. Mary's Catholic church as a group because that is not included and should be. The tour does not end there so step inside before the tour to see this beautiful church. When asked about Angel Island, she was knowledgeable about the Chinese experience of trying to immigrate to the US. It is the West Coast version of Ellis Island.
Linda made a point of asking for comments and questions often which is great so the tour participants stay involved. We had a Belgian family on the tour and others from New York, Florida and Texas. It's fun to meet people from all over.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Saavytraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews