We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational and Fun with a guide from Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of All About Chinatown Tours

All About Chinatown Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
San Francisco Chinatown Walking Tour with Lunch
Ranked #48 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This walking tour of Chinatown is now in its 34th year. Join us as we visit historic landmarks, fortune cookie factory, the Stockton Street food markets, a secluded Chinese temple, an herbal pharmacy and more. Complete the visit with a dim sum luncheon at one of Chinatown's legendary restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami
Level Contributor
324 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun with a guide from Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our tour guide, Linda Lee, was born and raised in Chinatown and therefore gave us a unique perspective from an insiders point of view. She was very knowledgeable, funny with a remarkable memory (she remembered where we all were from and our names) and knows Chinatown like the back of her hand. We started at St. Mary's Cathedral, proceeded on to the park, went on to a Chinese pharmacy and then saw a pagoda type building where the Chinese telephone operators used to work. The Chinese grocery store was packed with people and the floor muddy- we just walked through and left but was interesting. We visited a fortune cookie factory (an American invention) and got a free sample and then saw the Chinese Language school. The last stop (and my favorite) was a Buddhist temple where we walked upstairs, saw a monk and went to the altar. The youngest tourist got to drop a thing that looked like pixie sticks to get the answer to her question. The answer was a poem, written in Chinese which she was required to look up. Afterwards, we visited some shops and had dim sum at Oriental Pearl, where we saw our tour guide with patrons who opted for the dim sum lunch ($50 for tour and lunch). This walking tour was very enjoyable and I liked learning about what was in Chinatown, as opposed to just walking around blindly. It was $30 for a two hour tour. There are hills and a fair amount of walking, so this tour may not be a good choice for people who can't get around too well. It would also probably be kind of boring for very young children, but pre-teens and teenagers should be fine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Glee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allaboutchinatown, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed and positive review of my tour.
It's quite flattering that you remembered so much about what you saw and I'm sure future visitors will appreciate reading about the tour in greater detail.

I do want to make a few clarifications, however, for the benefit of future guests who have questions about the walking and bringing young children.

The walk is an 8-10 short city block stroll that takes less than 2 hours. Guests will be on their feet for this entire time as we do not stop and sit at every location. It is a leisurely walk with plenty of stops along the way, but there are steps to sit on at the Chinese school and chairs at the temple. Some guests bring portable chairs if they feel they need to sit often on the tour. The walk is both flat and while there are some hills, these are streets with some incline but are certainly not steep. Many of my guests are seniors, and I have had many guests in wheelchairs who have found the inclines easy to access. We walk at a leisurely pace that is comfortable for slow and fast walkers alike.

I have had many children, toddlers, babies, and parents bringing their children in strollers and baby carriers. While the tour content may be directed to families and adults, children of all ages love the constant walking, seeing the things in the herbal pharmacy, visiting the fortune cookie factory, and strolling through the food markets. The tour is a constantly moving activity that keeps children active and engaged. I have been giving tours to school groups for 30 years from preschoolers up to college age level, and I am always amazed that students find the walk both fun and memorable. Unlike a museum tour or bus tour, children can wander around, eat while on tour, touch things, and even leave for a short while to play at several playgrounds located on the tour route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    33
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I chaperoned my daughter's 6th grade class on their Chinatown tour (tour only, no lunch), led by Lynn from All About Chinatown Tours. Lynn was excellent, and kept all the kids engaged with fun facts about Chinatown and Chinese culture. The tour stars and ends at Portsmouth Square in San Francisco's Chinatown. We walked the streets and saw examples of Chinatown architecture, a Taoist temple, the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie factory, the Chinatown food markets, apothecaries and stores. The time absolutely flew by!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonggamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allaboutchinatown, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of Lynn's tour for school groups. Lynn is a versatile tour guide, able to give tours to both adults and students of all ages. Any tour aims to be age appropriate to be of interest and relevant, and for students, both memorable and fun. Lynn is able to do it all.
This is a very helpful review for both educators and families to see that the tour is popular for all age groups.

Linda Lee, Owner
All About Chinatown Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great intro to real Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We liked the tea tasting the best, but the historical and social education were excellent also. Like the dim sum lunch itself, tour guide Lynn provided us with a great sampling, packed into an efficient 3 hour tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cleichhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allaboutchinatown, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Our comprehensive tours cover as much history and culture that we can fit in for our two hour walk, so you are lucky that efficient Lynn managed to squeeze in a visit to the tea shop.
We're also glad you joined us for the dim sum luncheon, a wonderful way to relax and enjoy delicious food with new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Linda Lee Thank You!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were given the All about Chinatown Tours website from the San Francisco travel forum here on TripAdvisor so Thank You :)
Let me start by saying that this was our very first guided walking tour ever..we usually like to just wander around on our own and at our pace so this was a totally new experience for us.
I would highly recommend this tour with Linda, we learnt so much about the history and day to day goings on in Chinatown..We could not have found the gift shops,grocery stores or temples on our own, we needed a guide and I think we found the best!
Here is the letter I sent to Linda after our tour..
Hi Linda
Hope you and your family are well and in good health.
I just wanted to write you a short note to thank you for giving us a fabulous tour of your beloved Chinatown.
We considered it a blessing to have you all to ourselves on the day and we were secretly pleased when the other guests did not show up..is this wrong to admit?? Haha!!
John and I learnt so much from our time with you walking up and down the little alleys and walkways,sweeping through the grocery stores temples and gift shops! Talking of gift shops, we have given 4 of the red gift envelopes out already and we just love telling everyone the background stories to these.
Your love for Chinatown shines through you and the tour and we feel very blessed that we were able to see this beautiful place with you.
Thank you Linda
Best wishes and warm regards

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Thanks Dave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great tour by a native son. Dave blending the tourist sites with the hidden gems with history and anecdotes that kept teenagers in our group engaged. With recommendations for the best places to make purchases among the bright and shiny souvenir shops and questions to consider regarding street design and housing we were directed throughout the environs of generations of Chinese who helped create San Francisco. A delicious, well served Dim Sum lunch rounded out our time together.

No question the perfect introduction to San Francisco's Chinatown. Highly recommend the tour for those who've just arrived and those who have wandered on their own before.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rbj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allaboutchinatown, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dave's tour of Chinatown is an exceptional one.
If you are lucky to get Dave as your tour guide, you will hear about not only the history and culture of the Chinese in San Francisco, you will get the inside scoop. Dave's personal stories cover decades of working and living in Chinatown. Ask a question about anything while on tour and Dave will have a lot to share with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All About Chinatown Tours also viewed

 

Been to All About Chinatown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing