We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience All About Chinatown Tours
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
438
46
13
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
46
13
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dim sum lunch own experiences excellent tour informative tour private tour small group history interests sf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 503 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We liked the tea tasting the best, but the historical and social education were excellent also. Like the dim sum lunch itself, tour guide Lynn provided us with a great sampling, packed into an efficient 3 hour tour.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Cornelia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allaboutchinatown, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Our comprehensive tours cover as much history and culture that we can fit in for our two hour walk, so you are lucky that efficient Lynn managed to squeeze in a visit to the tea shop.
We're also glad you joined us for the dim sum luncheon, a wonderful way to relax and enjoy delicious food with new friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were given the All about Chinatown Tours website from the San Francisco travel forum here on TripAdvisor so Thank You :)
Let me start by saying that this was our very first guided walking tour ever..we usually like to just wander around on our own and at our pace so this was a totally new experience for us.
I would highly recommend this tour with Linda, we learnt so much about the history and day to day goings on in Chinatown..We could not have found the gift shops,grocery stores or temples on our own, we needed a guide and I think we found the best!
Here is the letter I sent to Linda after our tour..
Hi Linda
Hope you and your family are well and in good health.
I just wanted to write you a short note to thank you for giving us a fabulous tour of your beloved Chinatown.
We considered it a blessing to have you all to ourselves on the day and we were secretly pleased when the other guests did not show up..is this wrong to admit?? Haha!!
John and I learnt so much from our time with you walking up and down the little alleys and walkways,sweeping through the grocery stores temples and gift shops! Talking of gift shops, we have given 4 of the red gift envelopes out already and we just love telling everyone the background stories to these.
Your love for Chinatown shines through you and the tour and we feel very blessed that we were able to see this beautiful place with you.
Thank you Linda
Best wishes and warm regards

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great tour by a native son. Dave blending the tourist sites with the hidden gems with history and anecdotes that kept teenagers in our group engaged. With recommendations for the best places to make purchases among the bright and shiny souvenir shops and questions to consider regarding street design and housing we were directed throughout the environs of generations of Chinese who helped create San Francisco. A delicious, well served Dim Sum lunch rounded out our time together.

No question the perfect introduction to San Francisco's Chinatown. Highly recommend the tour for those who've just arrived and those who have wandered on their own before.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Rbj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was an entertaining and informative tour. Our guide, Beth, took us through the streets of Chinatown starting with the tourist shops and moving on to the side streets where the local residents shop. We were able to visit a Chinese Buddist Temple, a fortune cookie factory (tiny place & they still fold the cookies by hand!) and wandered through food shops that I would never have entered without a guide. We ended the tour with a lovely dim sum lunch. This tour is well worth the time and cost if you are interested in learning more about the history of Chinatown in San Francisco.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank TravelGurl727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved the Chinatown tour and felt like we learned so much! Because Linda grew up in Chinatown, the tour is a great mix of historical and anecdotal information. It's fun, upbeat and definitely a fun activity for all ages. I will definitely recommend this to friends and family travelling to San Francisco in the future :)

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank littlerockfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews