We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for sea food”
Review of The Eagle Cafe

The Eagle Cafe
Ranked #234 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect place for sea food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Located on pier 39 with great harbour views, this was another superb find.
We ate lobster, crab and shrimp of the highest quality. The service was very good, and you could be seated in or out.
Good atmosphere and service made it an excellent lunch.

Very much recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livingthedreamreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    256
    96
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast before our Alcatraz tour. Excellent cafe with awesome hash beef and pancakes. Not too commercial given its location at Pier 39. Well recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
602 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood on Pier 39”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As everyone knows, Pier 39 is a very touristy area in San Francisco so I didn't expect to find really good seafood . . . . . . This was a PLEASANT SURPRISE . . . . . The food was great.

My friend had a pint of Anchor Steam and I settled for a coke. We each enjoyed their lobster bisque. He had seafood with angel hair pasta and I went for the grilled salmon. Both great choices. . . . . and plenty of food.

Our primary server, Will, did a good job and he was assisted by the other servers in the restaurant. If they see you need something, they pitch in even if it's not their table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
258 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were here for lunch on our first day in San Francisco. Service, food, atmosphere were all very adequate and certainly worth a 4-star rating. It appeared to be a popular dining choice, and our meals were good and the presentation attractive. However, there are so many wonderful restaurants in San Francisco that I'd probably want to try several of them before a return visit.
I'm feeling a little unfair here, because in many cities this would be the best restaurant in town; just not in San Francisco!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solotravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply terrific every time we are here great food and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It tough to beat this place very consistent food is awesome my wife and I split the cable car combo more than enough for two be careful most portions are large I've enjoyed the crab omelettes here in the past and steak and eggs so there you go three to choose from enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Eagle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing