We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bento boxes to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Delica rf-1

Delica rf-1
Ranked #1,329 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Takeout
Ely, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bento boxes to go”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had little time to spend and there was an enormous queue to be served a la carte. I opted for the freshly prepared, ready made bento boxes and sushi and was not disappointed.
Seating capacity is limited, but go outside to sit on the benches facing the bay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    33
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“deep fried tufu”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had a very simple but delicious dinner. Futomaki roll, miso soup which is unlike any miso I have had and deep fried tofu. The tofu was unbelievably creamy with crunchy bonito flakes. Yummy! A bit pricey but it's in the Ferry building. Their HH looked pretty good and it would be a grrrreat date place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandagirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Original goodness”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

i liked the fusion with californian and japanese ways of cooking.
Wasabi mashed potatoes were really good!
and the packaging is very japanese.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love the Wasabi Garlic Potato Salad!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not living near the Bay Area, when we do visit I make sure I have at least one lunch here!
They have a lunch special where you choose two salads and one main item. I always choose the Wasabi Garlic Potato Salad, and try to expand my choice with another salad I have not tried. I usually end up with the main being Kaki age (I think that is the name), it looks like a small birds nest with shrimp on the top!
But that potato salad is the best-you know how it is when you remember the taste of something so well you sometimes just crave it?
Very clean and very prompt service-deli style.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and a Wide Range of Interesting Food”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Depending on how comfortable you are with Japanese food, this place can test your limits because it has an extensive menu that ranges from the familiar to the more exotic fare. The vegetarian offerings tend to be among the more familiar and family-friendly items, even for young diners. On the other hand, sea urchin and salmon-cheek delicacies might put off the sqeamish. Everyone in our group loved the vegetable tempura. Opinions were divided about the baked (steamed in a bag) fish. I liked it; others thought it was overcooked and insufficiently seasoned. The sushi rolls are small and tasty, the sake is splendid, but the seating is not only limited but very uncomfortable--high stools at narrow tables. Best to do take-away here if salads or bento boxes meet your needs. A long lunch can leave you lurching afterwards if your body was not made to be in the position required to fit into the dining space available.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokononer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delica rf-1 also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Delica rf-1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing