We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG... Best Macs... Ever!!!”
Review of B. Patisserie

B. Patisserie
Ranked #6 of 118 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Francisco, California
1 review
“OMG... Best Macs... Ever!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Belinda's macarons are the best!!! On par with Pierre Herme... Well of course, since she staged at Pierre Herme... Fluffy pieces of heaven.

Kouign Amann... Kouign Amann.. Kouign Amann... You must try these...To die for!

Also she's a stickler for presentation and display... Macaron sculptures on one wall, mechanical drawings of desserts on the other wall, and exceptional displays of baked breakfast pastries on one marble counter, and painstakingly gridlike organized layout of opera cake, mousses, tarts and parfaits...

Coffee bowls are huge! What's not to love?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sillyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    32
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Kouign Amman”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only came here for the kouign amman. OMG. It was to die for. Crispy, flaky, and oh so delicious. SO we bought two to take with us and had them the next morning. It got soft but still good. Found out that you cook bake them on a silicone baking mat for about 10-15 minutes in a 350 oven to crisp it back up and then let it cool a bit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious !”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The selection of pastries and tarts are so tempting once you step into this neat little cafe. The highly recommended pastries, kouign-amanns and croissants were so yummy that we ordered seconds and even bought some pastries back to SG! It was lovely to meet the brilliant pastry chef who made this all happened. Great stuff !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A most amazing patisserie!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I honestly can't say enough about Belinda's talent. EVERYTHING we tried was perfect; the Kouign-amann, almond croissant with chocolate and banana, sandwiches. I could have just camped out there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Highly recommended from a Parisian trained pastry chef to another Parisian trained pastry chef.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mignardise5025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“To die for and worth all the calories”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Your mouth begins to water when you're just standing at the door peering in through the glass windows. Kouign-amanns (pronounced queen-ah-mon) are amazing especially when you know how much work goes into them. These buttery flaky little babies have sugar encased in the middle of them and must be taken out of the pan when they are hot. My understanding is that the bakers have burns on their arms trying to remove these little bundles of goodness straight out of the hot pans. So when I bit into mine, I knew the sacrifices that these bakers make and it tasted just that more special.

I also ordered the chocolate banana croissant and didn't eat it until the next day when I was flying back home and it was just as tasty the next day.

Just letting you know that you will pay for your decadent visit in calories and moula. Anything with butter and love will cost you. 3 Kouign-amanns and 1 banana chocolate croissant cost me $20. Definitely worth the splurge or a special treat. Like for every 5 pounds I lose I can have one visit here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiana1ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B. Patisserie also viewed

 

Been to B. Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing