We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wines of California Wine Bar at Pier 39, San Francisco”

Wines of California wine bar
Ranked #732 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wines of California Wine Bar at Pier 39, San Francisco”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Wines of California place is located at Pier 39. It has a magnificent view of San Francisco Bay and Pier 39 Marina. Wine selections is excellent, food for tasting wines is good. You can seat in the patio even if the weather is little bit cold, as they have patio heaters. Staff was friendly and knew their wine business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoOntario1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good pours.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The view is good and is the perfect stop after viewing the sea lions. The tastings are fun. It would be great to come here with a group of people. Loved sitting outside, The tasting (flights) were a good pour. We did not try the food. The service was attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joythompson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and wine tastings”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

You can't beat the beautiful outdoor water view and people watching. I have been here twice and both times really enjoyed myself. You can get wine by the glass, bottle, or tasting flights. They also have appetizers/food. The food was a tad overpriced and nothing special. Each time I was here, I enjoyed wines and made notes to buy them when I got home. The wines you try here are available for purchase in stores unlike many Napa/Sonoma wineries. The wine prices were reasonable, especially considering the location and views.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Bar on the Pier”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This had to be our favorite spot on Pier 39. We went back each night for a bottle of Almond champagne, cheese platter and great view. Friendly wait staff, noticing the second my glass was empty. I could not ask for more. Nice menu of wine pairing foods.If you like wine, and looking for a serene setting, this is the spot for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonBons60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go here if you want an early night”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely looking place, overlooking marina. Heated outdoor area which was much needed in San Fransisco this weekend. Had really nice bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon and some tasting food platters, having such a nice evening decided on 2nd bottle of wine between us, placed this order at 2040....noticed staff tidying up and piling tables and chairs...manager brought us our bill and we asked what time they closed..2100!!! Other people arrived and were told they could have glass of wine but no food, others were faced with a locked door. We were made to feel very uncomfortable with this manager/owner hovering over us. So uncomfortable that we left half bottle of $42 bottle of wine. When I went to pay the bill, which had a mandatory 15% gratuity, and told them we felt very very unwelcome, this manager guy laughed and said in a very loud voice to the other staff members. 'she felt unwelcome guy's '... nowhere did we see a sign telling us it closed at 2100, everywhere else was just beginning to get lively. Our waitress had mentioned what a slow/quiet summer they had had....maybe he is the reason.Wouldn't recommend here for a relaxing or pleasant evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wines of California wine bar also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Wines of California wine bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing