We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat”
Review of Mikaku Restaurant

Mikaku Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mikaku Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #552 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Description: Our Japanese chefs specialize in the traditional craft of sashimi and nigiri artistry. We feature different fish from the world-famous Tsukiji and Kyushu markets in Japan with a different selection every week. To complete your experience with a refreshing drink, we have curated a rotating list of Overflowing sake, California wine, and Japanese beer. Please join us for lunch, dinner, or any other special occasion. We encourage family style dining, in which parties share each item to get the most out of the dining experience.
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner at Mikaku at least twice as it was literally next door to my hotel. The place was quite busy every night. They do a special dinner deal for $18, the menu contains a soup, salad, rice, tempura, choice of meat and sushi. Food is very tasty and fresh and it is a bargain for the price above. Recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrankieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    60
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very tasty and friendly”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here 3 nights in a row as it was close to my hotel. Sushi good and fish fresh. Good prices and great selection of rolls.

Size of sushi rolls varied each night but for the price, can't complain.

Helpful?
Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Edamame understeamed, sushi ok”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had dinner at this restaurant this evening. The edamame I ordered was not steamed long enough. The two sushi rolls I ordered were ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tawnyaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute place, ok sushi, nothing special from chef”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a nice dinner without the kids on recommendation from hotel staff. It was ok but we expected allot better for being so near fresh fish. We ordered the chef's choice dinner and it was not worth the price. Our 7 course meal for 2 people included: miso soup, small salad with nice ginger dressing, 1 choice of appetizer (we had gyoza and seaweed salad), a small oyster, 3 pieces of salmon sashimi, 4 pieces of sushi (salmon, tuna, white fish, and shrimp), a dragon roll, and small dessert. We both got identical plates besides the app. I was disappointed that the chef could have done anything and we didn't get anything special. We usually order the chef choice and get all kinds of great new stuff to try but not here. We won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had dinner here and had the combined dish of sushi & sashimi which was very good. Combined with some nice cold white wine we had great evening.
Service was very good.Enthusiast! We recommend the place for anyone who wants to have some good sushi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnflierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikaku Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mikaku Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing