We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Birthday celebration”
Review of Jeanne D'arc

Jeanne D'arc
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeanne D'arc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Transit: Cable car at Bush/Powell
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Romantic Birthday celebration”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I really love this place! I have been there twice and just love the menu!! the food is so tasty and the dessert are amazing, Specially the Grand Marnier souffle is amazing!!! The environment is cozy and love the decorations. Now, the service is not the greatest but the again the place is not pricy at all, $44 dollars for a menu where you get a soup to start, an appetizer, a main course and of course dessert is great for the price. :-) This place is located in a basement so the phone service would not work!! which makes it great to just enjoy the meal without using your phone...:-) I love it here and I would go again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funtaina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    121
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A visit to Paris”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely meal in a quaint and charming place. The lamb and grand marnier souffle were superior as was the most attentive service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B_G_C_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
“All good”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The ambiance, decor, food, presentation, service... everything is first class. The owner, a delightful gentleman from Orleans, France, is always an elegant presence.

Stay in the hotel and be treated to the best served breakfast ever, included in the cost of the room, which is delightfully affordable. Fabulous location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saratogalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a surprise - Jeff & Mary”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hidden on the lower level of the charming Cornell Hotel de France is the most wonderful little French restaurant, Jeanne D'arc. You have the opportunity to walk down an elegant stairway or take a ride on the early 20th century European style lift in order to arrive at the restaurant. As you give your name at the check in stand you wonder where can the restaurant possibly be located. You are than guided around the wall to the entrance and your next thought is wow! How on earth did they build this surprisingly delightful space like this? There was even a strolling violinist. The wine list was perfect, not over priced but with a good selection. The freshly baked bread was very good and offered a taste of things to come The menu was a pre fix, not our favorite way to dine but there were a number of exciting choices. As the menu often changes it's offerings suffice it to say all looked enticing. We started with soup followed by our choice from the salad menu. We each tried something different but ended up sharing as both choices were wonderful. The entrees could not have been better and again we shared. Desert? Amazing! Most people around us had the souffle but we choose the mousse and raspberry tart. Again, we shared. The service was all that service should be. As I filled out this form the first question asked was is this one of the best meals we have ever had. The better question would have been is this one of the best experiences we have ever had. Yes it is! Thank you Claude for providing us with this taste of France, a visual and epicurean delight. We have just dined at Jeanne D'arc and are ready to make our next reservation

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wjjnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great fixed price french restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

They only offer a four course fixed dinner menu for 44$++. Most of it was very good, and the atmosphere is also very nice and included many middle-age french aspect.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Avi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanne D'arc also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Jeanne D'arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing