We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem, excellent dining experience”
Review of Jeanne D'arc

Jeanne D'arc
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeanne D'arc is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Transit: Cable car at Bush/Powell
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet gem, excellent dining experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

On our first night in SF we found this restaurant close to our hotel. We very much appreciated the variety of options in each category of the fixed price menu, and the reasonable price of the meal overall. The food was excellent, the staff was friendly, attentive, and very helpful with wine suggestions, the atmosphere was warm, comfortable and welcoming. We'll make this a destination every time we go to SF.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank JSG144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    121
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“REALLY Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First, let me say that we were not tourists in San Francisco when we went to Jeanne D'Arc, but lifetime residents who have been to most of the top restaurants in the city. What always surprises and delights us is how many of these hidden gems we still discover. This little gem is not at street level of the hotel in which it's located but down a flight of stairs (or down the antique elevator) so you can forgive us for not knowing it was there. The decor is beautifully done and well-maintained so you won't be wanting for real French restaurant ambience.
Dinner was a genuine four-course meal at $42 per person and we felt that was a good price for what we got. The pureed vegetable soup was nicely seasoned and very tasty and the mixed green salad with shrimp was just right, not too huge nor too small. I had the filet mignon (extra $6) with potatoes au gratin and a vegetable stuffed artichoke heart. The filet, with a mushroom sauce was as tender as you're going to find anywhere and the side dishes were very well prepared and delicious. My wife ordered the sea bass with shrimp and scallops, which came with asparagus. It was a large tender piece of fish but she thought it could've used a little more seasoning. For dessert we both got the orange soufflé, which is something we don't get very often so we both downed it without hesitation. The service was professional but perhaps a little too fast-paced. However, I must admit that we told the waiter we had an 8 o'clock show later in that evening so I'm sure he just wanted to make sure we weren't late.
All in all, Jeanne D'Arc is well worth a visit for a special dinner with lots of atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank manthony1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit to SF”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Picked this on our first night as it was handy to the hotel. A bit doubtful about a place in the basement, but any doubts were blown away. Truly good French traditional cooking. The soup and salad were outstanding; one of us had rabbit, the other duck, both excellent. The dessert souffle was memorable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Toronto_Food_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quaint ambience with good food near Union Square”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A nice surprise while visiting San Francisco. Relaxed and friendly French restaurant. Good service, nice food, lovely decor. We enjoyed this place a lot and will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite having no reservation on a Saturday night, the helpful staff found room for me with almost no wait. The restaurant has an intimate feel no matter where you sit, and is bursting with French culture and atmosphere. Wonderful, attentive wait staff, and the food was outrageously good — for what you get, the fixed price is more than reasonable. I followed other reviewers' advice and got the orange liquor soufflé, I highly recommend it!

Overall, definitely one of the finest dining experiences I've had — can't wait to try it again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeanne D'arc also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Jeanne D'arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing