We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A basic kind of magic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tad's Steakhouse

Tad's Steakhouse
Ranked #190 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Union Square
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A basic kind of magic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Tad's doesn't have anything special, in fact it is rather simple in it's menu but I like simple... Simple is easy and good! I was introduced to Tad's by my aunt who used to visit there often when she worked on the airline routes and her crew would often eat in Tad's during stop-over.

The food tastes great and the location is ideal!

I have been back on every visit to San Fran and it still holds a little magic for me. Like a say - it's basic and it's simple... But that magic ingredient makes it special!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarvellousMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    244
    143
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“cheapest breakfast on Powell street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is great, old time steakhouse, we only ate breakfast there. (almost everyday) its $7.95 includes eggs, bacon, home fries, toast coffee. cant beat it the 1st morning we ate at Loris diner. and paid over $30 for breakfast. cant say enough about this place. he doesn't rip off the tourist.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Va
Level Contributor
233 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Sourdough French Toast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

As an east coaster - it was my personal mission to have west coast San Fran sourdough bread - everyday of our trip - how awesome to find that the place next to our hotel (that did not offer breakfast) had sourdough on the menu for breakfast - in the form of french toast. It was excellent. the breakfast special has eggs, sausage and french toast for just over $7. The place was no busy for the four mornings we ate there. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Not sure about the other meals of the day, but if it is close by your hotel - make this your breakfast stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Steak-a-teria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place lures you in with the sign out front..... looks like something out of the twenties with TADS spelled out in light bulbs. Also, it was near our hotel. You place your order and pay up front at the register. They give you a pager, and when your order is ready you go pick it up. The steaks are flame-broiled and come with baked potato, salad and garlic bread. This isn't gourmet fare, just good old-fashioned steaks served up quickly at really good prices. Also tried their chili, and it was quite good, although I like mine hot, so I slathered it with tabasco. I had them top it with cheese and chopped onion. Served with oyster crackers. Basic wine and bottled beer are available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic value breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went here for breakfast as recommended by a local and we weren't disappointed. The breakfast is fantastic value and plenty of it. Great polite staff too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linbylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tad's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tad's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing