We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmyra

Palmyra
Ranked #758 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Haight-Ashbury
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Palmyra, Is the Best Middle Eastern Food in the Bay Area. The Family who run it are so wonderful and everything is fresh and homemade.
Everyone we have brought there have the same comment that it was the best Middle Eastern Cusine around. We are so fortunate to only live one block away!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Ontario
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't be turned off by the looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is not doing itself any favours by having confused looking servers and an almost "dirty" look about it. Get passed that and enjoy fantastic food! We went on Friday night, we called ahead and asked if we needed reservations and was told" Um yes, you could". When we got there, nobody had a reservation book or any idea about what one was! The owner of the place served us, offering the wine list as "red or white"! We had great lamb kebabs, a Babba ganoush plate, and felafel. The food was great but even better was the people watching. It is a very busy place, part of the neighbourhood and well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elainelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Palmyra was recommended to us by some locals who we were staying with across the street. It's one of their favourite restaurants in the area and they go there frequently. The food is great, generous portions and always very fresh and tasty. We ordered the chicken and beef shawarma platters one night, and the chicken salad another night. The staff are also very friendly and welcoming, and it has a 'family-run' feel to it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not fancy and the atmosphere sometimes has a cold feeling about it. But the friendliness and the food is makeup for all that. The roast chicken comes with a wonderful garlic sauce and the falafel is the best I've ever had (they coat it with sesame seeds.) Remember to save room for the dessert. Turkish coffee with homemade nut cake if fantastic. And, to top all that off, the price is excellent for the quality of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dine-a-mite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Greek salad $7 was huge! It had lots of feta, olives, and ripe tomatoes.
The chicken wrap was very flavorful.
The baklava was a nice treat too. It was less than $20 for two entrees, an appetizer, and a dessert.
Big booths were easy to share.
Very homemade.
Delish!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twowomanroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmyra also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Palmyra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing