We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarantino's Restaurant

Tarantino's Restaurant
Ranked #374 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Description: Cracked Dungeness Crab, Clam Chowder, & Cioppino are among guest favorites. Seafood Fettuccine Tarantino, a crowd favorite, Scallops and prawns in a sauce of garlic, herbs, cream, and freshly grated parmesan cheese, is one example of the Italian flavor which is a hallmark of our seafood. For a quick bite, visit Tarantino's Sidewalk Cafe. Our Dungeness Crab are cooked, cracked, and wrapped to go--call in advance for curbside pickup. We strive to provide our customers with a consistently memorable fresh seafood dining experience with a unique San Francisco bay view. Banquet facilities available.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The great view and relaxing atmosphere were the good points. The food was a big disappointment. I ordered the crab cakes and received three flat, mushy cakes with little to no flavor; made me wonder if there was any crab involved at all. My husband, who loves fish & chips reported to me that this dish at Tarantino's reminded him of fish sticks (various types of minced fish). The service was just OK...nothing outstanding. We left wishing that we had taken our concierge's advice and gone to another restaurant, a bit farther away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    178
    98
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful view OK otherwise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The view over the water from upstairs is lovely. This is a spot well worth stopping at for a drink at the end of the day. It's not too noisy so if you've spent the day as a tourist and need a quiet break it would be a good choice. We had a glass of wine and oysters. As other reviewers have said, service was slow but we were not in a hurry. The oysters were large which is typically west coast, I think - without the fresh sea taste of the smaller ones - but nonetheless good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Raw pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had shrimp/crab cocktails there. And by cocktail there, you get a bowl of crab and shrimp meat. This place is unbelievable and a great value. Will be coming there next time in San Fran.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful View from Tarantino's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A friend told us to visit Tarantino's in San Francisco. We ate at many fish places in SF and Tarantino's was good but I would not say out of the ordinary. The view from the restaurant was wonderful with a real fisherman's feel to it! The waiter was polite, but average and the restaurant was not busy to take him away from our table. The food was delicious but nothing special. I would probably chose another fish restaurant next time if it were me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not only did it take an hour to be served our food, but the waitress came by so infrequently that we had to get up and get our own straws and water. This place is short-staffed, lacks ambiance, and you can get better clam chowder from the street vendors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarantino's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tarantino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing