We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”

Tarantino's Restaurant
Ranked #326 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Description: Cracked Dungeness Crab, Clam Chowder, & Cioppino are among guest favorites. Seafood Fettuccine Tarantino, a crowd favorite, Scallops and prawns in a sauce of garlic, herbs, cream, and freshly grated parmesan cheese, is one example of the Italian flavor which is a hallmark of our seafood. For a quick bite, visit Tarantino's Sidewalk Cafe. Our Dungeness Crab are cooked, cracked, and wrapped to go--call in advance for curbside pickup. We strive to provide our customers with a consistently memorable fresh seafood dining experience with a unique San Francisco bay view. Banquet facilities available.
Riverside, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Not only did it take an hour to be served our food, but the waitress came by so infrequently that we had to get up and get our own straws and water. This place is short-staffed, lacks ambiance, and you can get better clam chowder from the street vendors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    195
    104
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine restaurant right at the Wharf”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are not very much into buying your food "market style" at Fisherman's Wharf, Tarantino's is your best choice. 2 levels offer a nice restaurant to sit down and enjoy seafood whilst having a nice view to the "embarcadero".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ri_estevez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but far from great.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good food and nice view of the wharf. Notice I said good, not great. A little overpriced for the quality, we had dinner there. It's would better serve for a lunch venue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Watsonx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Chippino”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ended up here after a terrible experience at Scom's and I am glad we did! The Lazy Man's Chippino was fantastic! Lots of crab and prawns and fish in a slightly spicy tomato sauce, a must try if you are visiting San Francisco.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Four of us decided the day before to head to Fisherman's Wharf to watch the 4th of July fireworks. I called around the day before, and nearly all the restaurants in the area were completely booked. But Tarantino's had room.

The reviews on Yelp are underwhelming: mediocre food and often mentioned slow service. So I set my expectations accordingly & was just happy to have found a place to celebrate the holiday.

For appetizers we had the prawn cocktail and the crab cocktail. Unfortunately, the prawns had a bit of a previously-frozen rubbery texture. When just starting the crab cocktail, we remarked that it seemed fresh and was pretty nice. But we could only really taste the crab meat on the top part of the dish. The rest of the crab meat languished in the bowl of cocktail sauce that overwhelmed all other flavors.

When selecting our main entrees, the waiter pushed us pretty firmly towards the Lazy Man's Cioppino. You know when that happens, it usually means he is trying to steer you away from disappointment. So three of us went with his recommendation, and the fourth ordered the halibut. We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a cioppino that was flavorful and pretty well-balanced served with a tasty slice of garlic sourdough toast.

The halibut, on the other hand, was small, under-seasoned, and served with relatively bland vegetables. The three others of us ended up sharing our cioppino with the guy who had ordered the halibut.

Other notable observations from our experience are that the wine list was short and seemed random, the dining room carpets were pretty trashed, but the server was attentive & very kind, and our table at the window was a great location to watch the fireworks.

Overall, we had an enjoyable experience and happy to have gone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarantino's Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tarantino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing