We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulful breakfast”
Review of Eats

Eats
Ranked #702 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: The Richmond
charlottesville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Soulful breakfast”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My friend lives around the corner from Eats so i ate here three times during a recent visit.

I loved the spicy tomato skillet. It felt hearty and nutritious and is served with toast. It's served in a small cast iron skillet so it stays hot until you're finished.

The huervo rancheros were also very good but ask for your eggs to be prepared over medium otherwise the dish gets a little too wet. The eggs and beans are served on a crispy flour tortilla.

The spinach and mushroom benedict is nothing to write home about. It's a lot of food and could easily satisfy two people...but why bother when there are yummier things on the menu?

They only accept cash so be prepared. We only had to wait for about 15 minutes once. The other days we were seated immediately. My friend said on the weekends the wait can last an hour or so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oriahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Staff”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was renting a house within walking distance of Eats and actually found the restaurant through Tripadvisor. The food is really good and staff was amazing. Both visits to the restaurant, we ended up talking with people on tables either side of us. Both times the other people mentioned how it used to be an awful restaurant, before the new owners came in and opened up. On Sunday when we went there was actually a Famer's Market occurring outside. If there is a wait at the restaurant, you write your name and how many in your party on a chalkboard located near the front door. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stangman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Breakfast”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The scramble was amazing. Fresh green and yellow zucchini, mushrooms, corn. There was only a genuine smile when I asked to substitute jack for the goat cheese (not a fan) and for some of their fresh salsa. Perfectly cooked. Delicious.

The baked "home fries" seemed to miss the "fries" part. Baking does not home fries making! Dry, lukewarm, flavor-free.

The milk was, as it should be, ice cold.

The staff is congenial. The space/decor - meh.

The 1st rate food and staff are worth the 3rd rate venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Broedti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good place for breakfast or brunch. The place is small, food is good, service is great. I like there basic egg breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luluTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved our Sunday morning breakfast!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived before 8:30 and easily found a table...not a lot of seating, so get there early. We had fabulous service and the food was great. Their waffles are really yummy. I had the one with berries, bananas and whipped cream...out of this world! The menu is really varied and has a breakfast item for everyone. A little hole in the wall place that is a great find.

Helpful?
Thank SusieFlutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eats also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing