We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to go when visiting SF or for drinks with a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff House

Cliff House
Reserve with OpenTable
Cliff House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
san francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to go when visiting SF or for drinks with a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Cliff house been my usual first date place for so many years. The interior has changed and they remodeled. Menu has changed, but is still great, for what it is: a place with great views of the ocean bay. It's quite and easy to get to, just keep driving on Geary.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eugene n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    481
    157
    36
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cliff House of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The cliff house has an amazing view and if you can get in before sunset! It is worth it. I ordered crab cakes and they were delicious. The service was wonderful and the history of the building is interesting. It is worth it for the view and a little bite!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited CA for Christmas Week and attended the Christmas Champagne Brunch at the Cliff House. We were looking at other sites in San Francisco, but decided to go with the beautiful location on the coast. It was an excellent choice. The variety of the menu was fantastic, the price very competitive and the staff always kept our champangne glasses filled! I highly recommend the brunch at the Cliff House for any weekend, but if you are looking at doing something different for Christmas you will not be disappointed. My suggestion is to reserve early for Christmas. They book up fast. They start taking resrevations around Thanksgiving but check the website prior to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicMHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old San Francisco Landmark, so much history there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Cliff House is a fabulous old spot right on the cliff overlooking the S.F.bay. The restaurant has been upgraded, but stiil has all the old charm from 100 years ago. Adjacent to the restaurant is the property once very active and (still) known as the "Sutro Baths" - all that is remaining from the structure are concrete and brick foundations. There are trails and overlooks to the bay. Sutro once was a huge covered / indoor sea water plunge where visitors and locals alike would swim. There are old photos and writings referring to the area history located in the Cliff House restaurant next door. My Mother and her sisters all from North Beach would tell us the stories of our Grandmother and families spending all the day playing and picknicking there. The Cliff House restaurant has an excellent wine list and the food is great. I ordered the carrot / riccota ravoli that was delish....Karen enjoyed the "Two Crab Sandwich" ~all wonderful~ the waiter service was right on! Ok parking, beach walk, fantastic view and charm, good energy, interesting area with a wide beach and lots of activity. We've been there several times and will always go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxC93940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Atmosphere, Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Definetly a must see for visitors to SF. Good food, great views, good bar scene with a great deal of energy. I took my partner here for a romantic meal and it did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House also viewed

 

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing