We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Flavors in a Cozy Setting”
Review of Mandalay

Mandalay
Ranked #260 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Flavors in a Cozy Setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Burmese restaurant is very good. I went with a group of friends and there was plenty of food for vegetarians and carnivores alike.

The salads and soups are excellent. Try the Tea Leaf Salad (order two if you are more than 3 people sharing), and the Samusa soup, which is described as "Soup made of bean base, curry leaf, broken samusa, lentil, crunchy yellow bean, cabbage, onion and mint leaf." It is excellent.

I had the Pan Fry Okra Prawns which were very good, the okra is just lightly fried and the prawns were full of flavor.

This is definitely a good place to visit whether you are a novice with Burmese cuisine or an expert, the staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    59
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent Burmese cuisine, consistent”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family loves this place because the food is consistently excellent. We've gone here occasionally over several years. One night the crowd waiting for a table grew fairly long and one of the owners began offering a glass of wine to those of us waiting. Try one of their salads.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFtraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Intersting Cuisine, great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. It was a bit out of our way but not far by bus from Golden Gate park. On California Avenue. Mix of Burnese food and other asian foods. Everything we tried was excellent and we will definitely return and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tusenkatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Exotic flavors and tastes.....”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Make resevations! 415-386-3895 There were a lot of people waiting, we were treated like celebs as we were seated ahead of the many waiting customes. Exotic flavors and tastes combine in this Burmese and Mandarin Cuisine. We stated with the Balada appetizer, a delicious crispy pancake with curry dipping sauce. The Lap Pat Dok, a tea leaf sald with lentil seeds, fried garlic, sesame seeds, and peanuts is an exotic taste delight. Next we ordered the Rangoon Spicy Fish and the Mandalay Special Noodle. Both dishes were perfectly prepared and brought to the table promptly. For the two of us this was more than enough food to have generous left overs for the next day's lunch. The room is cozy with an Asian decor, yet the tables are comfortably spaced. The service was friendly, polite and very efficient.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarlingHarb0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very busy place - and they close kind of early - seemed like they skipped over us a couple of times in favor of seating 'regulars', but overall a very nice dinner. They did offer complimentary drinks while we waited. Between all of us we tried the satay chicken, egg rolls, mango chicken, basil chicken, mongolian beef, green beans, and coconut rice. What a delicious feast! I would get the green beans to share with any entres - they are worth it - excellent! Food arrived hat and fresh. I would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kidsareallgrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandalay also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing