We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Best Dining Experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ti Piacera

Ti Piacera
Reserve with OpenTable
Ti Piacera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,155 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: California St.
Transit: Polk St. #19 Muni @ Polk St. and California, California Cable car at Polk St., California #1 Muni, @ Clay St, and Polk. St.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not the Best Dining Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Last week's visit to this restaurant was disappointing. One can overlook a lack of ambiance and indifferent, slow service if the food is good, but all three of our dishes were lacking in some respect. My husband’s caprese salad had three hard and very unripe tomatoes, my son's Bolognese was ok, but not much sauce and less meat and while my chicken Marsala featured tough, stringy meat.. San Francisco is home to many fine Italian restaurants; do yourself a favor and check out other ones. There were few diners in the restaurant and the neighborhood was rather spotty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    44
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, friendly and professional staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Walked int this restaurant on our first of a three night holiday in San Francisco with 5 in our party including three teenagers. Great atmosphere with comfortable decor, dark woodwork, large picture windows onto Polk Street, smallish intimate setting with large antique bar on one side. Friendly staff was helpful and attentive without being annoying. Food was solid and high quality if not delicious and beautifully presented in several cases. I had their evening's fish special which came cooked nicely with asparagus
And grilled portabella on the side with whipped garlic potatoes. Nice food, great atmosphere and attentive service all combined to make our recent family dinner here tasty and memorable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhodesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A very happy visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I ended up here because my feet were killing me, and Swan Oyster Depot (recommended on this site) had a ridiculously long line. I really liked the atmosphere – it was warm and inviting and semi-upscale. The restaurant part was pretty empty (it was around 4pm) but there were locals gathered around the bar. Two women eating alone, and a group of middle-aged friends. The happy hour deals were great - $3.50 glasses of wine and discounts on some of the food items. The food was of the sort you’d be really impressed if your friend made – on the classy side, not perfect, but really good. My steamed mussels were tasty. My polenta wasn’t totally warm when it arrived, and the polenta’s texture wasn’t great, but the mushroom sauce was really tasty. I was finally able to relax, people watch, and not feel like someone was waiting for my table. The bartender also acted as host and waiter but did a fine job of it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just very good and completely satisfying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Great food, reasonable prise (main course of 18-23$ and wine 30-36$), lovely service, pleasant atmosphere. Portions are not bug, so there is still room for a starter and dessert. We spent here a lovely evening

Helpful?
1 Thank milly_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were very impressed by the food here. Not too expensive and had a nice vibe. We did have to wait a bit to be served and again for our meal to arrive but it was worth the wait. fresh hot and very tasty. The service got better and our water got topped up when necessary. Would recommend eating here

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Piacera also viewed

 

Been to Ti Piacera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing