We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Thumbs Up but not at the Bar!!”

Laurel Court Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Laurel Court Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #902 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: California
Transit: MUNI bus #1 stops on Sacramento and Mason Streets when heading West, or on Clay and Mason Streets when heading East. Cable cars meet atop Nob Hill. The California Line stops on California and Mason; The Powell Line stops on California and Powell.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant Thumbs Up but not at the Bar!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great decor, very impressive but the uninterested bar staff really let it down. there was one bar waiter who used to sigh and walk away slowly after the order. He really made you feel you shouldn't disturb him. I would give it terrible if only on this basis but the restuarant service at breakfast was superb - as it all should be for a hotel of this calibre!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WelshatHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    63
    28
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience - Shame on the Laurel Court Restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived from NY to the Fairmont Hotel on 8/13/12 at approximately 8:30 pm. We were tired and hungry so after we checked-in we decided to eat at the restaurant in the lobby of the hotel because it was dark and we were not familiar with our surroundings. At 9:30 pm my boyfriend and I were met at the entrance of the restaurant and asked what our room number was and where we were visiting from. We were seated at a table in the center of the restaurant. We waited 15 minutes and no one approached us to take our order. We watched as the servers asked the people around us if they were ok and if they needed anything. 20 minutes later my boyfriend asked a young man if he could get someone to serve us. 25 minutes later a man approached us to take our order then someone came over with water and filled our drinking glasses. 10 minutes after that the waiter came over to tell us that our meal would arrived 10 minutes later. Again, no one came over to refill our drinking glasses or to ask us if we needed anything. We were not given bread or butter, nothing. I observed as others around us had water, bread and butter at their tables. We drank our water and did not receive a refill. When the waiter came over with our meal (at 10:30) he disappeared and didn't bother to refill our drinking glasses so we ate our meal with nothing to drink. After we finished eating we had to, again, ask someone to get the waiter to give us our check. He came over to the table and gave us the wrong check and left. 10 minutes later he came back and we told him we had the wrong check. He quickly found the correct check and waited for us to pay for our meal (that was the longest time he spent at our table). I feel that we were ignored because we were two young African Americans and it made me sick to think that this kind of racist behavior is still happening even at the Fairmont restaurant.
I wrote a letter to the general manager of the restaurant the next day telling him about our experience and hand delivered it to the front desk. We spend 5 days in that hotel and no one acknowledged that they received my letter or cared that one of their guests had a bad experience at the restaurant.
I was very excited at the thought of going to stay at the Fairmont hotel and experiencing San Francisco, but I must say that the experience in this restaurant left me extremely disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were at the Fairmont for four days and this is the place we generally started and ended our day after exploring the city. It is comfortable, the service is good, and room is beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We ate at the Sunday brunch buffet and the food quality was very high. The highlights were the eggs benedict and freshly made omelettes and waffles. Service was good overall and pretty good experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank robinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Went for breakfast and late night drinks, was perfect!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Breakfast here is everything you would hope it to be in such an old world type hotel. The buffet selection was ample and there was an omelet station as well. Service was impeccable and attentive for breakfast and during late night drinks. Everyone was was happy to assist and see that we had all that we needed. Comfortable chairs, and couches make you never want to leave. You can stop in with your book or newspaper and have a cocktail and read for hours (if you have that kind of time) unbothered. Price was a little high but You expect that in a Hotel.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel Court Restaurant & Bar also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Laurel Court Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing