We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemongrass Thai an absolute Score”

Lemongrass Thai Cuisine
Ranked #1,513 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green & Union
Transit: Muni lines: #19, #45, #41
Amherst, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lemongrass Thai an absolute Score”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were at a hotel just around the corner from the restaurant and it is favoured as one of the best thai restaurants in San Francisco. Excellent cuisine, prices and portions!!! Very flavourful.... we were so impressed and would have gone back every night while we were in San Francisco. There are a couple of good restaurants in the neighbourhood including Andy's Great Chinese Food. Wow!!! We're keeping this neighbourhood in mind for future visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    42
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local Fav”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was recommended to go to this restaurant by a local - it was good. I was on my own and took the waitress recommendation of what to order and which wine to pair the food with. Both were great! Nice atmosphere and a great neighborhood!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taranell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too many other great places to try, skip this one.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I ordered the Chef's Special. 3 different appetizers, a soup, main course and ice cream. It also included a glass of wine. We were excited to try some new things. Not a good idea. The appetizers and ice cream were the best part. The soup was so bitter that we sent it back. They did offer to substitute something else, but we declined. The Shrimp Pad Thai main course was 2 small shrimp and several pieces of tofu. We do NOT like tofu. Sure wish we had been told that before ordering.

Bottom line, there are so many others places to try in the city ... Skip this one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyBizTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm hooked.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been to S.F. twice, and eaten at Lemongrass 3 times. Can't say enough good things. It is so fresh and yummy, and the service is also 5 stars. I had the Lemongrass Special, which is a regular menu item. Chicken, perfectly cooked red bell peppers, etc. in a red curry-coconut-peanut sauce that I die for. The green curry with salmon is also just wonderful. My husband and I dream about the food at this place, and he has visited Thailand a number of times. Another "best in S.F." Thai place just didn't compare.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BerryAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice homey place,great appetizers”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Happened in on this place close to y hotel on Van Ness. It has a very nice homey feel,great service.Appetizers were fantastic esp. the sticks with shrimp wrapped in dough and the sweet sauce that comes with the. The soft shell crab was also very very nice! Liked the brown rice option.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Cuisine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Lemongrass Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing