We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Great People”
Review of The Bell Tower

The Bell Tower
Ranked #705 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place - Great People”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We moved from NY to SF in May 2012. As an avid Minnesota Viking fan I wanted to find a bar where I could watch the games and found the Bell Tower. Not only is the atmosphere awesome on Sunday morning football days but the people (bartenders, waiters, patrons) are all just good people. We were readily accepted into the crowd and now we go there every Sunday. Have also been back on other occassions when in the area. Food is always awesome. I LOVE THIS PLACE! Thanks gang! Thanks Barbie!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxLiveRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mariehamn, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, food and price”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I visited The Bell Tower with my family and we had a great three course dinner for around $200. We had steaks and seafood for entrees and they were all very good. A mistake was made with one of the meals but the staff were very apologetic and a replacement meal was quickly brought out and a dessert was on the house.

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brossard, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are from Montreal on vacation and founf that place walking on Polk Street a Sunday Night.
We liked the look and the menu and went in. Good decision! The servive was great and the food excellent. A must!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little surprise and care at The Bell Tower”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've been eating here for 18 years. It is a surprise that a little, cute corner place can serve not only very good food, but do it with grace and warmth. Lots of locals sit at the bar and include you in conversation. There is a large flat screen in the back for sports fans and big windows if you prefer to look out onto the street.

Food is consistent, reasonably priced and they can prepare something special if you ask. This is a little place that is great for a Sunday brunch or a late lunch and it is especially pleasant just at sunset.

Look for its bell tower and tiled roof on the corner!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing service and really good food!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had to wait 20 minutes for a table but that just gave us the opportunity to watch the staff do an amazing job hosting and serving. The place is small but cozy and the breeze coming through the open doors was lovely. I had the french toast and it was the best I'd ever had. The boyfriend's omelette was fluffy and packed with veggies. The pear cider was really refreshing and their french onion soup was super tasty. I'm sure we'll be back if we're ever in San Fran again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mischyfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Tower also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing