We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood place”
Review of Scoma's

Scoma's
Ranked #99 of 6,556 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Transit: Muni - #10, #15, #30, #47 Street Car - F Line Cable Car
Description: Scoma's is a San Francisco icon and the only restaurant located in Fisherman's Wharf with a working 46 foot fishing boat. Freshness and high quality are the main reasons the restaurant has been successful for more than 50 years. Whether guests want to watch the commercial fishing boats in action or enjoy the view of the Bay from the cocktail lounge, come in an join the Scoma's family for one of the best dining experiences San Francisco has to offer.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

Best meal on 5 days stay in Frisco. Large selection of premium seafood dishes.
Cioppino was amazing. Service was very good. Will get back again.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Scoma's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

We're happy to hear, that, S.O. Thank you! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 5,988 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2019

We've been coming to Scoma's for years and have enjoyed the food, wine, tiramisu, and the 1950s ambience. While our favorite, fresh local crab, was out of season, the local petrale sole was recommended. Unfortunately it turned out to be a bland, bread-covered, frying, accompanied by an assortment of thick green beans. The seafood stew was a better choice, but it too was so, so, with little distinction. The rich tiramisu, which used to be served in a ceramic mug, with a chocolate spoon, is no more. It is now merely a cake-like square, as can be found in many supermarket deli cases. The Sancerre wine was excellent. We'll give them another try, on a future visit, but this one was forgettable.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seabiscuit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Scoma's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hi Seabiscuit. Thank you for your long-term patronage. We are sorry to hear your recent visit was not quite as memorable as previous ones. Please know if ever you order a dish that isn't exactly as you had hoped, we're always happy to quickly bring you a different one you will love. Next time in, please ask for a manager so we can make sure your meal is perfect for you. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Not really sure what all the fuss is about-- we had a view of the docked small boats-- waiter wanted to chat about his trip to Italy -- we just wanted to eat-- bread was as hard as a rock-- watch your teeth-- seriously
Started with soup-- it was ok-- two tiny pieces of crap is all i found in my bowl. Scallops were very good- mixed grill was ok.
Left with a bill of over $170.00 for lunch with tip-- no drinks or desserts-- just beware-- not that great- but I guess u are paying for the experience of it all.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank dbandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Scoma's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Hi Dbandel. Thank you for your visit and compliments on our scallops and view, but are sorry to hear you did not enjoy all of your meal as much as most customers do. We wish we could have replaced any dish that was not perfect for you as we always want our customers to leave extremely happy and satisfied. Hopefully we'll have you back some day for what we're sure will be a perfect meal. and please let us know if you make it back in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

Very fancy sea food. Good service. Price as always can be better, but I think its worth it. Once in a while you have to treat yourself to something special.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Dionissio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Scoma's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

Thank you, Dionissio. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to having you back next time you feel like treating yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

Great service and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our dinner. It is worth the wait. Can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank xit95i95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom J, Guest Relations Manager at Scoma's, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2019

We can't wait to have you back ,Xit! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoma's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Scoma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing