We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”
Review of Scoma's

Scoma's
Ranked #49 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Jefferson Street
Transit: Muni - #10, #15, #30, #47 Street Car - F Line Cable Car
Description: Scoma's is a San Francisco icon and the only restaurant located in Fisherman's Wharf with a working 46 foot fishing boat. Freshness and high quality are the main reasons the restaurant has been successful for more than 50 years. Whether guests want to watch the commercial fishing boats in action or enjoy the view of the Bay from the cocktail lounge, come in an join the Scoma's family for one of the best dining experiences San Francisco has to offer.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

You should probably have a reservation - very popular. But worth the short wait. Great options & great food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wabjr705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,599
    1,320
    522
    192
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining on the dock away from tourists”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Off the beaten path of the touristy Fisherman’s Warf mainstreet, walk down Al Scoma’s Way to a dock where you will find this unassuming restaurant nestled in among the fishing boats. While unassuming on the outside, this dockside restaurant surprises you with true elegance as soon as you walk in the front door. We had window seating where we could watch the boats and the sunset, enjoy a glass of wine, and enjoy an amazing dinner that started with the bread. The sourdough bread was delicious. It could have stopped there, but just got better. Our terrific waiter, Chris suggested the Petrale Dore for my wife who doesn’t normally like seafood. This dish won her over. I had the scallops and shrimp. Everything was cooked to perfection. The vegetables were the ideal seasoning and texture and the scalloped potatoes are a good choice for a side, a slightly stronger cheese that provided a nice flavor to what I consider a normally bland dish at other restaurants. Plan to spend over $100 for 2 people, but plan to be amazed at the quality of food and the very pleasant ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaddyCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fisherman's warf 70's style”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cool setting, huge spread out restaurant with something of an a view ...right from the 70's historical dinning room. frozen in time, waiters in full white shirts and formal look... this is the place to eat on the wharf... expensive, food was good , not cutting edge, service was impeccable. Bread service, 2 appetizers, 1 entree and 2 glass of $12.00 wine $125.00


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElKay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, need better reservation system”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Had heard good things about this place for a while but was never able to visit on my trips to San Francisco. Finally tried it. Had a few drinks at one of the two bars - very friendly and attentive bartender.

Once seated, service was ok. Waiter needed to check with someone else to answer each of our questions and didn't stop by our table, after the entrees were delivered, until we were done. This seemed to be the exception as the patrons around us had very attentive waiters.

Food was very good. Nothing fancy just solid good food. This applies to the Caesar Salad, chowder and our entrees - all lived up to our expectations.

My biggest issue was the reservation. We used OpenTable and had a reservation for 2 at 8:45 but weren't seated until 9:20 after I complained. That is a long wait for a reservation! A couple entered the same time we did and were told it would be a 1/2 hour wait. That was less than what we waited WITH a reservation.

In summary, enjoyed the meal, service was ok and reservation system was broke. In truth, I would be hard pressed to come back until they corrected the reservation issues given how many other options there are in San Francisco.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomN537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fresh, fantastic seafood as usual!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We go here every time we visit San Francisco, it is one of our favorite places to eat. The last time we ate here was about 8 years ago and I am glad it is still going strong. We brought two work associates with us who have never been here before as we were all in the city on business. They loved it and everyone was happy with their particular seafood dish. It was a busy Friday night and I am glad we made reservations far in advance. Sonny, our waiter was friendly and efficient. Will come back again when we visit the city! We ate here on Friday 10/25.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoma's also viewed

 

Been to Scoma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing