We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza huge portions”
Review of Sausage Factory

Sausage Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Sausage Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #677 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Castro
ukguyz
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great pizza huge portions”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted Italian for dinner tonight so we looked long and hard and picked The Sausage Factory. Lived up to its name with the amount of meat on our large meat pizza. Was over 18" across and packed with tasty toppings. We could not eat it all so a doggie bag for us it was. Wish we had seen the review about donating your left overs to a homeless person before we got back to the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    61
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Huge portions and great pizza”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only ordered a large pizza for 2 of us and that was far too big (was over 18" across) Loads of toppings and a very tasty fresh tomato sauce. Service was good and the whole place was very busy with a very good ambience

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sotonscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A group of nine of us went there for lunch.
Every one was satisfied with their food. My pizza was really good and my friends' dishes that I tried were too. Very good value! This might not be a gourmet restaurant with fine prenium ingredients but you get a lot of more than decent food for a reasonnable price.
I will definitely go back for lunch!
Maybe next time I'll get a smile from the waiter/owner??

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBdlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent, a bit pricey”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The small pizza was pretty good size, could be shared by two for a light dinner. Very cool building, felt like an old time (19th century), pub, or saloon. The food is a bit on the pricey side, but it may be appropriate given the high rent rates in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For pizza maybe”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food was pretty bad, verging on awful: overcooked pasta, stale bread. The pizza was acceptable, but really nothing special when there are multiple restaurants with real Italian food nearby, for example Bacco just a few blocks south in Noe, or Delfina a few blocks east in Mission Dolores.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sausage Factory also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sausage Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing