We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great early dinner...”
Review of Ristorante Ideale

Ristorante Ideale
Ranked #180 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great early dinner...”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a party of six, after many hours of walking, we were delighted to sit, and be served wonderful food in a trendy, updated small restaurant.

Wonderful food. Each dish was perfectly cooked; service was attentive. We were full but the dessert menu was impossible to refuse.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    107
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,116 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Standard North Beach Italian...”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Ideale seems like a standardNorth Beach Italian restaurant. Not great but well above average. I went with friends who are regulars here. It's nice to be greeted by name by staff. Quiet suggestions as to better choices and off-menu items.
Well above average food and service. Quite good just not gonna be great. Having said that, can't go wrong dining here. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent & Authentic”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved it-- the food is delicious, the staff is charming and the setting is fun... lots of laughter and smiles.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Small intimate restaurant in North Beach. Affordable wine list with Italian wines. Three of us dined here and all had a different pasta dish. They were each very authentic and delicious!! The veal stuffed tortelinni was fantastic. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dove Canyon, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, excellent service made for a great night”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a recommendation for this restaurant from some friends of friends, but it was our first time in SF so we thought we'd ask our concierge as well. It was on their top three Italian restaurants list and when pressed to pick one, the concierge said "well, this is my favorite. It's where the Italian chefs go when they aren't working". That sealed it for us! I had him make us a reservation and am happy to say, we picked well.

It is a small restaurant with two rooms. We were shown into the back room and seated immediately. We ordered an appetizer of pears with marscapone wrapped in prosciotto that was delicious. The waiter was very attentive and service could not have been better. Our dinner choices were the veal saltimbocca, the veal and prosciotto tortellini, and the seafood linguine. All were very good, but the pasta was exceptional. We really enjoyed our dinner and the entire evening.

Ideale was perfecto in every way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ideale also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ristorante Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing