We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was worth a 1 hour wait”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market
Ranked #124 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was worth a 1 hour wait”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Friday night at Pier 39 is busy busy. We'd never been to Bubba Gump before and I had been looking forward to giving it a try. When we were told we would have to wait for an hour for a table, I can't believe I actually said yes. The October evening was incredibly windy and cold, but we waited it out hoping it would be worth the wait.

I absolutely loved the interior - so much to see. The place was very busy and very noisy - I usually don't like noisy restaurants but it had such a great vibe that I soon forgot about the noise.

Our waiter was very friendly (possibly a little over friendly) and helpful when it came to the menu. We waited over an hour to receive our meals. Unfortunately by the time they arrived, they were both cold. I'm quite surprised neither of us actually enjoyed the meal but strangely enough we both left very happy. It was such an enjoyable experience that we didn't mind the fact that we didn't overly enjoy the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank udivasdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    1,062
    450
    117
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner, lovely staff!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here, interactive dinner was great for Gump fans! The food was good and the atmosphere was fantastic. Loved the memorabilia.

Helpful?
Thank AlysHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Attentive staff”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food was average ,staff were attentive if a little busy when we went which to be fair was holiday period in December .
We had a nice view by the window .
Truth be told it reminded me a little of an upmarket McDonalds and would not rush to go back as it wasn't particularly cheap either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable, but an amazing server made is even better”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great views and food, plus a fun atmosphere. And to top it off, our server (Travis) treated up like we were honored guests. He made us want to eat there every day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Casual Seafood Restaurant - Great Value”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This our second experience at a "Bubba Gump" location. Our first was over 20 years ago on Maui. The menu is quite extensive, relatively inexpensive and the entree's are so big, I could not eat everything on the plate. They have a unique way of signaling the waiters and it seems to work. There draft list is short and we tried a local brew (Anchor Steam) which was very good. We arrived just after Noon and there were about six tables being used but by the time we left just after 1 pm the place was packed. Please note this is classified as low season for tourists, but there still seems to be a lot of us around.
The food is very good, the atmosphere very casual and friendly and I can recommend this restaurant for families and friends. Great Views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing