We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian food this side of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Firenze By Night

Firenze By Night
Ranked #109 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Italian food this side of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I lived in Florence for a year. Rarely do I find a restaurant in the US that has the feel of Firenze. This is the real thing. It wasn't just the Italian waitstaff...or the Italian wine...no, it was the white beans & tuna salad, it was the rabbit on the menu. This could make me want to live in SF, just to walk here for long, yummy dinners.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    108
    32
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place for good Italian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

On a busy sat. nite we were seated without a reservation...service was fast and we never felt rushed. wine selection was very good. there were actually 6 specials that nite .we each had a different and sampled each others, all were so very tasty.......the overall experience was fabulous.
The saltimbocca and Pappardelle toscana are the best.......the only reason for not giving 5 stars is the bread for the dipping olive oil was ordinary........otherwise if you have friends from out of town they will love this place and so will you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have eaten here three times and each has been a treat! Most recently, five friends and I decided to go in early and have a small meal before going to a show. We sat at the bar and enjoyed appetizers and small portions of the Gnocchi. The service was excellent and the food - outstanding. The wine list goes from the very reasonable to high end - I would say there is something for everyone. The restaurant is small which allows for a warm, family feel. This is one of my for sure "go to" places when visiting San Francisco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni57_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Go here. I cannot stress that enough. Whether you're in the market for Italian food or not, you will be by the time you've left this place. It is small, which gives it a homey feeling, like you're in grandma's kitchen not a restaurant. When I was there, the staff spoke with an Italian accent, showing authenticity. The food was so fresh that it tasted like it had been pulled straight from a garden. I had linguine with pesto, and the waiter was delighted to leave off the butter (Veg friendly). If you want a dessert they have an excellent selection, however you're in the heart Little Italy, so there are bakeries everywhere. There is room for parties and also couples. The interior is decorated with statues and plants, and the wait staff can be seen running in and out of the kitchen doors delivering meals. I was seated by a man who apparently seemed to be the owner. He had a welcoming aura and kept control of his employees well. Wine is a big deal in San Francisco and there's no shortage here. There is something on the menu for kids, adults and seniors to enjoy. Leave your heart in San Francisco, and your fork in Little Italy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We received a recommendation for Firenze and boy was it spot on. The food was incredible! The service was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the bruscetta, ceasar salad and then one of their nightly specials. DELICIOUS! We finished it off with some port and a sinfully delicious dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dillons1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firenze By Night also viewed

 
 

Been to Firenze By Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing