We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience - just go!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albona Ristorante Istriano

Albona Ristorante Istriano
Reserve with OpenTable
Albona Ristorante Istriano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #216 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Taylor & Mason Sts.
Transit: Last stop of the Powell-Mason Cable Car Line at Taylor and Francisco Sts. (1/2 a block away). No. 30 Bus stops at Columbus Ave. and Francisco St. (1 & 1/2 blocks).
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience - just go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited this place tonight with two friends and the overall experience was superb. The service was exceptional without being intrusive and the food was amazing.

I started with the pears and gorgonzola - a great combination and delicious. The seafood stew was one of the best seafood courses I have eaten. All this and just $270 plus a tip and including two bottles of wine! Thanks Sam and your staff for a great evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Middletonmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    71
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SF gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Found Albona through Trip Advisor and glad I did! What a great meal my wife and I had. Sam, the owner, greeted us with complimentary Prosecco and a warm personality. The entire staff was attentive and professional. The meal was exceptional as we ordered Sam's recommendations. The mushroom risotto and seafood linguini were excellent. Stay away from the Wharf - come see Sam at Albona.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great food in an unpretentious dining place. Had the scrumptious 'Brodeto de pesse': Adriatic stew with snapper, mussels, calamari, scallpos & prawns in tomato broth, served with garlic bread. Also delicious was the "Calamai al forno con salsa marinara" - squid stuffed with toasted bread crumbs, parsley, and garlic, roasted in marinara sauce. Service was very pleasant. The waiters called a taxi for us, which came almost immediately!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serraserra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best, (and only) Croatian food I have ever eaten.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ate here at the recommendation of a relative. and she was right. I had the charred pear with gorgonzola for the first course, the lamb with rosemary, and the chocolate flan for desert. all were excellent but the best part of the evening was the service provided by the staff and the owner, Sam, He treated me like kinfolks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston_TexasBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The restaurant atmosphere was intimate and welcoming. Owner/Chef Samuel introduced himself when we arrived and made sure we were cared for well. The service was spectacular, often with Samuel checking in, as well as the other wait staff. We had the sardine appetizer and a fish-stuffed squid appetizer. Both were delicate and flavorful. Our entrees were the rabbit and stuffed pork tenderloin. Portions were generous and the sweet/savory flavors wonderful. Prices were very reasonable for food and wine. We will return again ... hopefully soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karlos5366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albona Ristorante Istriano also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Albona Ristorante Istriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing