We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Piece of Italia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Franchino

Ristorante Franchino
Ranked #162 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Italia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited here on the last night of a five day trip to San Francisco. My son had eaten here before and said we would enjoy it, which we did. It is a very small place, seating only about 15 or 20 people so be prepared for a wait at times. We waited about ten minutes while Il Signore Fanchino kept us entertained and repeatedly said he would take care of us. He is quite the talker and keeps watch over the ristorante constantly wearing his hat cocked back on his head. Anyway, the food was outstanding, and I had some of the best gnochi gorganzola in a very long time. It would be worth your while to visit if you enjoy home cooked Italian fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    63
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant---the food was excellent and hot. The chicken pharm was just like the real thing in Italy, wonderful flavor of sauce and tender chicken. Every one of our party of 8 was extremely happy with their selection. Old Mr. Franchino was gruff to some but entertaining to me since I am used to old Italian talk when I grew up in Massachusetts with Italian relatives. Great meal, loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blball520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Family owned restaurant we discovered during our 2006 trip that we just had to visit again. Very friendly, good service, BIG selection on the menu and a great wine list. It's a small place (less than 20 tables), so you might have to wait. But it's worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have booked a table two nights before the date to celebrate meeting our cousins and made our reservation at 8pm. However, due to the busy road, we have contacted the restaurant before 8pm and informed them that we will be 10 mins late. Although the person confirmed that our table will be held, we were surprised upon our arrival at 8:09pm that the Restaurant's owner, who was extremely rude, started to scream at my Aunt's face that there is no table available and when we tried to discuss the matter with him he kept shouting and screaming at all of us without any sense. Therefore, we called the dinner at this terrible restaurants off and decided to dine at a another respected place.
I do not recommend this place at all even if they had the best Italian meals in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

While we waited in line, the old man Franchino was very entertaining, talking to us and the people waling by, making us laugh. The evening we went, there was a young boy playing the accordion and Franchino was very funny directing the music of the accordion for the boy, who played very well. The food was good an the price was right, not too expensive. The place is small, like other restaurants in the area. If you get a chance, stop by and have Franchino entertain while you wait.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Franchino also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Ristorante Franchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing