We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”

Blue Mermaid Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Mermaid Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Hyde Street
Transit: We are 2 blocks away from the F line stop at Jones St. and Beach St.
Description: Serving casual San Francisco fare and a large helping of Gold Rush Era ambiance, the Blue Mermaid Restaurant & Bar makes its home in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. A menu, priced for the whole family, features fresh seafood with a regional focus and a great kids' menu. Diners will find distinctive homemade chowders served from steaming cauldrons in three different size bowls, including a traditional bread bowl. Also offered are such savory selections as Fresh Oysters on the Half Shell, Whole Dungeness Crab and Cioppino. A full bar specializes in a wide selection of beer and California wines, Irish Coffee and ocean-themed cocktails... guaranteed to promote mermaid sightings. Come in and listen for the siren songs of the legendary Blue Mermaid.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We ate here twice, our first night, and our last morning. The popcorn shrimp is to die for, the clam chowder was very yummy!!! Breakfast was very good too!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlosensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    453
    192
    63
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The description of the restaurant did not meet my expectations - I was expecting more than a casual bar type atmostphere. The dinner meal we had was good - not great, not bad. It was good in a pinch as we were tired after a day of travel and wanted to be near our hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must go destination near Fisherman's Wharf”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We decided to stay at the Argonaut Hotel just before getting on to our cruise. The location was perfect as was the Blue Mermaid Chowder House and Bar. Service was attentive and friendly. We ordered the ling cod as well as the evening special of scampi with linguini. They were adequate portions served with fire toasted sour dough bread. Great spot to drop in after an open air bus ride or cable car ride, which are both a block away. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great choice on the better end of Fisherman's Wharf”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I hesitate to even say that Blue Mermaid is on Fisherman's Wharf, because of all the connotations that go with that touristy, often bawdy location, but this is a great choice for the westernmost end of the strip and more than just a hotel restaurant. My husband and I had breakfast here every day of our stay at the adjacent Argonaut Hotel. We also happened to be in the bar the night the Giants took the World Series, an unforgettable experience! Great breakfasts in the morning, including eggs and the best oatmeal around, and a great bartender at night who knows how to make good beverages. An unbeatable combination, if you ask me! Do go and enjoy this spot with its historical setting, friendly waitstaff, and delicious food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texas Family Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive service, cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose the chowder sampler as our appetizer and enjoyed every kind. My favourite was the New England style. We both had the Cioppino for our main and it was pretty tasty. Sadly a lot of the seafood was overcooked though and the tomato based sauce was average. The server was very good though, and always made sure we were taken care of.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mischyfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mermaid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mermaid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing