We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Veneto

Via Veneto
Ranked #908 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were back in SF and could not pass up an opportunity to eat at Via Veneto. It is in a cute neighborhood and is authentic and reasonably priced. We had the veal scaloppine, fish special which was salmon and sea bass, and some pasta dishes. As always, everything was nicely prepared and delicious. The garlic olive oil with bread was a wonderful accent to the caprese and house salad. We had a nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from Sonoma that was perfect with the food. Service is attentive and the staff is very nice. We will return when we are back in San Francisco.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice food and service, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this place by accident, but we were pleasantly surprised. The interior is cozy and contemporary. My wife and I both ordered fish for lunch. Both meals featured very fresh ingredients, were well prepared and attractively presented. The service was excellent. And for San Francisco, it was reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very reasonable for San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have eaten here several times on visits to San Francisco and the food is consistently good. Some of our family are vegetarian so there were lots of options for everyone. Restaurants in San Francisco can be very expensive but Via Veneto is very reasonable with a varied menu and excellent service. The restaurant is on Fillmore street which is truly charming area. We have never been disappointed with the food or the wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We dined at Via Veneto this past week and really enjoyed the ambiance. The service was great and we found the menu and wine selection delightful- A great meal- It is in a great location on Fillmore street - We will return again

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Potomia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ah, the memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I first dined at Via Veneto in 1954, fell in love with the food, was introduced to a wonderful Charles Krug light white, traded bad Italian jokes with the wait staff, and have looked forward to my next visit to this charming restaurant through its various regenerations over the years when I infrequently visit that gorgeous city by the bay Over the years as I became the very suave and sophisticated being I now am, my tastes developed and improved but I still find Via Veneto's vitello dishes welcome and delicious. This is the kind of restaurant one would come back to visit forever, though I am reasonably certain the original family operation long ago disappeared and that some corporate entity owns ands runs the establishment. Whatever, the current owners have done a good job of training and directing staff, including cooks, and this is still a charming place for family dining in a city where there is virtually no end of outstanding eateries even with Ernie's and the Blue Fox, among so many other old favorites, no longer available. I look forward to my next visit no matter where the restaurant may have moved.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBadBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Veneto also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing