We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Service and food are top notch"”
Review of Betelnut Pejiu Wu - CLOSED

Betelnut Pejiu Wu
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Buchannan Street
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Service and food are top notch"”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We go to San Francisco every year, and during each visit we make sure we hit Betelnut. Their food is consistenly very good, the service is always friendly and helpful. Plus, every time we go, they have different specials to try and different beers on tap. If you're looking for delicious Asian food in the heart of SF, you can't go wrong at Betelnut.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharterOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    88
    36
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
470 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Usual high standards”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Have been coming here for years and the food never disappoints. The place has a great buzzy feel about it with an open kitchen that infuses the whole building with a lovely, aromatic smell. A group of us selected a number of dishes to share. Most notable were the short ribs and green beans - yes green beans.....they are delicious. Service was sharp and attentive without being over-bearing. A great experience and ideal for groups.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
405 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great service pretty good food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 8 had a pretty good meal here, some dishes better than others but overall pretty tasty, though a bit greasy. Service was friendly and my kid dumped her water twice and nobody flinched. I would definitely recommend it for groups so you can sample lots of items.

Helpful?
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, better service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Springrolls are really nice. Great atmosphere and wine selection. Waiter was very friendly and patient. Great place for Sunday lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
602 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Interesting But Average”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place is more of a bar than a restaurant. They don't serve full meals........... more of an Asian style tapas offering............ but it was a happening place with plenty of business.......... full of people mostly in their late 20's and 30's.

I started with a beer and he had a Mai Tai. We then ordered 4 of their offerings which were served on small plates like Spanish tapas would be served. Our choices were spring rolls, Roti Cani, Calamari and their Penang. The dishes were tasty but nothing special.

A bit on the expensive side, our check came to $73.08. . . . . . and we were still a little hungry.

Our server, Ashley, was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betelnut Pejiu Wu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing