We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tapas & Fine Sherries--” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegrias Food From Spain

Alegrias Food From Spain
Reserve with OpenTable
Alegrias Food From Spain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #445 of 5,491 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Webster
Transit: 1 block 22 Fillmore 30 Stockton 43 Marina (Masonic)
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Tapas & Fine Sherries--”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a small and pleasantly dim little place with interesting wall decor. The draw is tapas, the Spanish small plates of various tasty concoctions. We started with an order of marinated olives, four different kinds, while waiting for our lamb-stuffed pimiento (pepper) and beef empanadillas, all delicious. We had a glass each of Dominio Heredia, a tasty Spanish red with the meal. We added the chorizo tortilla to share, and finished with a custardy cream Catalana. I had an espresso-like Cortado, and Bride had a thick and creamy Pedro Ximenez sherry. We sat at a window looking out onto Lombard, it was delightful. There was one small glitch with the payment machine, but we finally were able to pay and leave, satisfied and smiling.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonhartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Better food then I had when I vacationed in Spain! Staff was friendly, we were on vacation and meeting friends in the Bay Area and they were happy to let us stay while we visited, even brought us over a glass of home made liquor and explained all the photos on the wall that were taken by the owners son who waited on us. Great experience!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lmwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
171 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Real Spanish food in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I were delighted to taste authentic Spanish food: gambas al ajillo (prawns in garlic sauce) and Paella.
The service was excellent and the wine too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AUSTIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“So many choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went here with a group of friends - very helpful service - to decide what was best to order for the wine. Wonderful small plates and paella. Have been here repeatedly and would return. We were nervous because when we got there it was nearly empty but it was completely full when we left. Clearly a bit hit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I shall start by saying, I am from Spain. Alegrias is definitely authentic Spanish food, not some adaptation or california infused nonsense. Love that this is a family owned business. Their tapas are small in size, but packed with flavor. Their manchego flambeado has got to be one of the best I have ever tried. I'd say we ordered about 80% of the menu and everything was great, the only exception, the rabbit. It wasn't bad, it just didn't wow.Their paellas are equally delicious. One is defintely good enough to share for 2 people. Sangria is a must- careful though, it goes down easily. The restaurant itself is really charming, their walls filled with typical Spanish Tchotchkes and decor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alegrias Food From Spain also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Alegrias Food From Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing