We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, wonderful service”
Review of Isa

Isa
Reserve with OpenTable
Isa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Chestnut
Description: HOURS: Tuesday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Wednesday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Thursday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Friday - 5:30 - 10:00pm Saturday - 5:00 - 10:00 pm Sunday - 5:00 - 9:00 pm Rising Star Chef Nominee by the James Beard Foundation, Founder Chef Luke Sung, at Isa has received many accolades from five consecutive years on the Chronicle's Top 100 Bay Area Restaurant List to the Top 40 in Zagat. This is a restaurant not to be missed in San Francisco.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went on New Year's Eve, so it was a prix fixe menu. The options were still outstanding, including a Baked Laura chenel goat cheese dish, the truffle risotto and creme brulee. The service was great, very quick and thoughtful. The price was reasonable. The atmosphere of the main section of the restaurant is quaint and warm. The patio though heated and spacious, was not very attractive and had an unusual smell on arrival. In the future, I would certainly request a table in the main dining area for improved ambience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsStarV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    64
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What a find! Short menu but very adequate. Nice wine list. Excellent dinner in a lively atmosphere. Very good service. Overall, a very nice experience. We'll be back, for sure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good California Cuisine in a Good Ambience”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After a long flight, we decided on Isa for a more casual first night in San Francisco and we were also interested in the menu promising of California cuisine. We were seated in the back patio, a nice spacious heated area, and ordered a bottle of wine from their varied list, which also offered several selections by the glass. Our excellent waiter, Domingo, advised that all the plates were meant to be shared so we tempered our choices accordingly so as not to be too full.

We started with the Arugula Salad (very fresh, with a palate cleansing flavor aided by slices of Fuji apples, oranges, fennel and lemon vinaigrette with parmesan shavings), Grilled Local Calamari (the smaller ones were used as opposed to slices of the large calamari but were nonetheless flavorful on a bed of white beans with spices and lemon zest) and the Grilled Angus Flat Iron Steak (one of the more expensive items on the menu at $21.00 but nicely done with zucchini, roasted potatoes, moutarde verte and Bordelaise sauce). The food sizes as plated were about as large as an appetizer at any restaurant but we were fine with that as it allowed us to try another dish, the very tasty Sautéed Sea of Cortez Wild Prawns (combined with parsley, garlic, lemon and spicy lobster sauce). We scanned the dessert menu and ordered the Flourless Chocolate Cake with vanilla bean gelato after being assured it was more soufflé-like in its taste (it was indeed as light as any soufflé).

A very nice evening with a good ambience, fresh food and excellent service was had for just over one hundred dollars (wine and tax included). We would definitely recommend Isa.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_J_Spaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Eat here, the food is great!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had dinner at Isa on a Sunday with three friends and we had a wonderful time. We all picked from the prix fixe meal which gives choices of starters, mains and cheese or dessert. . I had the salmon carpaccio starter, the flat iron steak and ended with aged goat cheese drizzled with honey. Everything we ordered was great and there was plenty of food.
There are a lot of great choices for the small plates and one could easily make a meal out of them. There is a bar menu with several starters, cocktails and glasses of wine at $5 if you order before 7pm, really a great deal!
The atmosphere is comfortable and the place was very busy so it was a bit loud. The service was friendly and the waiters were helpful with describing the menu items when we had questions. They were a little slow in clearing our plates when we were done.
Next time I'm in the Marina, I'll go back for more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nom nom certified. Best. Crete brûlée. Ever.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Started out with the lettuce salad that had a deliciously light vinaigrette to go with the candied pecan and cheese, followed by a tasty teaser - potato leek soup. The next pat if the meal - the truffle risotto and spaghetti were aaahmazing (extra brownie points for the truffle risotto - it tasted every bit as glorious as it's regal mushroomy presentation)!

A word to vegetarians: you're covered. Amply covered. Deliciously covered. And did I mention the service? Impeccable!

Desserts (because it deserves its own section): Apparently the chocolate cake is the rage, and of course it would be, with it's warm melting chocolate happiness and fluffy texture...BUT, the creme brûlée is still ze bomb. Crackly caramel topping capturing smooth custard delights. Just can't go wrong with that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank humming-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isa also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing