We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite in San Francisco!”
Review of Bistro Aix

Bistro Aix
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Aix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #471 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Chestnut
Transit: Multiple bus routes
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite in San Francisco!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have Esten in this restaurant a several times last year and this year. Every time the food was fresh, light, very tastefull and delicious. The fish, pasta's and appetizers, everything is so great! It is located near the Chestnut street, out favorite street in San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best food and wine”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After 4 weeks in USA this has been our best meal. Really good intelligent food without massive serves , excellent service and fabulous wine list the prices too are really reasonable compared to some really expensive ordinary food that is around especially for San Francisco

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gelvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The menu is great, it give options without being predictable. Everything tastes really good. The ingredients are fresh and all plates are made to order. We had the octopus and the sardines and the were both delicious. We also had the soup and it really was a home made soup: light and tasty. No sauces and no fatty creams. Food here is simply made and good. We ve been twice and we ll be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Gio_barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Go early and get seating in the back (atrium). Fabulous eats. Salads are awesome, entrees change and are out of this world delicious. On this trip to S.F. we ate two consecutive nights at the Bistro Aix and were just WoWed each time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drtdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent service and food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

From the minute you walk in the servers are attentive and helpful with any questions. We were given 2 tastes of wines we were interested in. The octopus appetizer was just the best and our main courses were perfectly presented and tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sausalito5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Aix also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bistro Aix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing