We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Value”
Review of Bistro Aix

Bistro Aix
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Aix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #375 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Chestnut
Transit: Multiple bus routes
Redding, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Value”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

There were three of us on this visit. Two of us had the New York steak and one got the brisket. My steak was ordered medium rare. One of the steaks was ordered rare to medium-rare and was more like medium-rare to medium.

Service was perfect - attentive to all needs but not bothersome. Food was served quickly with a good pacing. The restaurant was busy with people waiting for tables when we left. We got a reservation for that day in the early afternoon.

A nice atmosphere that is lively yet allows you to talk. Sauces were very good. Portions were enough that we did not try a dessert. Would definitely go back when in The City.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine & service”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our fav of the many excellent restaurants near our hotel (Cow Hollow Motor Inn). My wife had the beet salad and spaghettini twice. I had the grilled squid, the burger with poached egg on top, and the leg of lamb - all delicious. We sat at the bar both nites and the bartender gave us excellent recommendations along with tastings to see which we preferred.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank UWHusky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,750 reviews
926 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went for the first time with friends of ours. The staff was very accommodating even though it was a packed Friday night. The pasta was good. The tenderloin was excellent. The lamb was good but overly fatty. Service was slow but it was packed with probably 40 people standing around a bar that sat 12. We would go back. Prices were excellent. We had an appetizer, a bottle of wine, and four entrees for less than $200 total.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

had the steak and pasta... loved the atrium such a great atmosphere...staff was great and want to go back to try more on the menu

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank js5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a lovely evening meal here. My tuna was delicious and cooked perfectly. The bistro was in a very vibrant area and we would definitely return

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Aix also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bistro Aix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing