We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi Ever”
Review of Sushi Groove - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushi Groove
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green & Union
Transit: Powell-Hyde cable car
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi Ever”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love this place. Not only is the food good, but the atmosphere is awesome. The staff are like manga characters and the food is just out of this world. Next time you have a hankering for sushi I recommend you try this place out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Left Coast
Level Contributor
214 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The took a reservation but were closed when we got there”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I'll never know if it was any good. I made a reservation. We spent 45 minutes getting there and when we walked in, they told us they were closed. The guy commented to his friend that they knew we had a reservation and they had it on their system when we got there. They had my email, phone number, etc. but they did not call to say there was a mistake or that they closed. They just ignored it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood sushi place”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

a few blocks from the famous Lombard street. Funky little place with a local feel. . . Nothing fancy but our $35 meal (no liquor) was excellent. The avocado boat was delicious--also had some sake and hamachi nigiri. Great service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GROOOOVEEEEE”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a fine fine place for maki rolls and sashimi plates very fresh very tasty very cheap
went here for dinner twice in three days recently when in SF on a short trip if I am back to SF I will be back to sushi groove.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Good food but tired, torn furniture with poor service. Not recommended.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blinkie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Groove also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing