We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a drink”
Review of A16

A16
Reserve with OpenTable
A16 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #269 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Scott St
Transit: Muni: 30
Description: A16 is a restaurant and wine bar bringing the delicious and hospitable traditions of lively Campania to San Francisco. The chic, rustic/modernist venue is named after the motorway that transverses the South of Italy. The restaurant features wood oven-fired Neapolitan Pizza and other specialties of Campania such as Maccaronara with ragu napoletana and house-made ricotta salata. The wine bar serves 40 wines by the glass and half bottle carafe. The list is 60 percent Italian, mostly from the South, and the other 40 percent is New World, celebrating premiere Italian varietals grown in California along with many California wines.
london
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We did not eat here but only sat at the bar to taste some wine. The bar staff were very helpful in organising a tasting of their us wine selection. Nice atmosphere, really buzzy on a Tuesday night

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Concernedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    186
    82
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good Italian food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to this restaurant not knowing what it would be like. It is expensive but worth it!

The pizzas are really amazing! I would recommend ordering one pizza at the time, share it and order another one.

The service really depends on which waiter you have: it can be really good or really bad. We had a bad one but the food was really worth it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InesFyngary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good modern Italian”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere,really buzzing restaurant .different pasta,and great tasting pizza.Wine list really big,didn't know which one to pick, until the waitress came to the rescue.we never book ,but it's advisable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePepperMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food and fun vibe”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We did early bird dining because we had theater tickets. Service was a bit slow but we may have just been pressed for time. The food was excellent and well worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian in San Francisco!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I went to A16 on a recent trip to San Francisco as it had been recommended to us by a friend. We loved everything about it! The restaurant itself is in a great area (called the Marina) with tons of pretty shops. The atmosphere was fantastic and the service was superb. The food was perfect as well. We ordered the burrata and the bruschetta to start and then split a homemade pasta and pizza for mains. Each thing was absolutely delicious. I would recommend this to anyone visiting San Fran! We will certainly be going back on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_L830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A16 also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to A16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing