We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous and tasty”
Review of Rose's Cafe

Rose's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Rose's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #248 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Steiner
Transit: 22 Fillmore
Description: A favorite in the Cow Hollow neighborhood, Rose's Café is a hangout for locals who bask in the sun at sidewalk tables, duck inside for a cappuccino, or stay for a leisurely lunch or dinner. Many customers are regulars who frequent our pretty bistro-café that offers table service and deliciously consistent food - Italian fare created using organic local produce, fresh seafood, humanely raised meats, and free-range poultry. Rose's artisan bakers bake a daily selection of pastries, desserts and breads. Menu highlights include: pizzas, daily soups, and house made pastas.
Lyman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Adventurous and tasty”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved Rosa's so much we returned for another night of Italian. The pizza (with egg) was the closest I've come stateside to the kind you find in Italy, and the appetizers were wonderful! Service was friendly and helpful. 100% good experiences!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    80
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great salads and acccompanying beer choice at lunchtime today. First class and very friendly service, a welcome respite from my other ( and better) half trying to get in the Guinness Book of Records for most shops visited in one street in a day. The cheese bread was superb as well. A stalwart in the face of many newer Union St eateries but holding up very well. Ate at the bar though the outside tables very appealing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJHsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average Sums It Up...”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recommended by our hotel, we felt secure that we would have a good meal after a long day of traveling. Aside from a Saturday night crowd, which we understood, it seemed we were putting the hostess out arriving a bit early for our reservation.

The waitress was average, more "diner" like than I had expected. We ordered a variety of food with the 4 of us, and average reviews with each one.

Not sure what the draw is to this place, since the atmosphere is not much to look at, and food was at best average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very good Union Street eatery”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here our first night in San Francisco, choosing it because it was just down the block from our B & B. What a great choice! The food was really good, and it's obviously a very popular neighborhood restaurant. My pasta was excellent and my daughter loved the pizza she ordered. There really is something for everyone at this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot on Union Street”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just had lunch here. For a nice salad and pizza and pleasant outdoor seating, this place can't be beat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank zihuabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Rose's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing