We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location, great price!”
Review of Rose's Cafe

Rose's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Rose's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #230 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Steiner
Transit: 22 Fillmore
Description: A favorite in the Cow Hollow neighborhood, Rose's Café is a hangout for locals who bask in the sun at sidewalk tables, duck inside for a cappuccino, or stay for a leisurely lunch or dinner. Many customers are regulars who frequent our pretty bistro-café that offers table service and deliciously consistent food - Italian fare created using organic local produce, fresh seafood, humanely raised meats, and free-range poultry. Rose's artisan bakers bake a daily selection of pastries, desserts and breads. Menu highlights include: pizzas, daily soups, and house made pastas.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great price!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have gone back many times to this small restaurant on Union Street. The food has always been excellent, as has the service. The prices are, we believe, quite reasonable, considering the location, ambience, service & food quality. We will be going back there many more times.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingleby Barwick
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in San Francisco in June for a few days at the start of our road-trip and went to Rose's twice in that time - mainly because it was less than a block from where we were staying and the first visit was after 23 hours of travelling from the UK!

The service was excellent and the food pretty good although we thought the menu a bit limited. If you're in the area it's worth dropping in and the locals seem to like it but with such choice in SF there are probably better options.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must for Union Street visitors”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Across the road from our hotel it was a lovely place to indulge over dinner. The menu covers a broad range of tastes and the food and wine didn't disappoint. It's a relaxing and friendly spot that you can see is treasured by locals.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank atotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

What a great place in a neat neighborhood- They have a great and unique menu - food is excellent and so is the service- we will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Had a superb lunch!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a great find - we had a superb lunch & the panacotta was out of this world! It was busy but a table was quickly found for us. Just loved the decor (Chihuly style glass lamps) & the upmarket but friendly atmosphere. As noted by another reviewer the fact that there is only the one unisex restroom can lead to a queue!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose's Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Rose's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing