We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy but delicious Swiss getaway in the middle of SF...”

Matterhorn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Matterhorn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,424 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Austrian, French, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Several Muni bus stops nearby.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kitschy but delicious Swiss getaway in the middle of SF...”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went here on a whim, craving gooey and delicious fondue. Was really pleased by our experience. While the decor was a bit throwback and kitschy, it's a pretty accurate rendition of what a restaurant in small-town Switzerland is still like today (I go back once a year). The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was wonderful. The fondue was surprisingly lighter than we expected, with lots of flavor. We added the Alpine Delight, because what meal isn't better with cold cuts? A few Swiss draft beers and we ended up satiated and quite happy, all for under $100.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dc2sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I fondue believe you'll like it here”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Now, I've had a fair few fondues in my time, as has my cheese-addicted girlfriend, and I can safely say that this was the best fondue we've ever had. It was sooooo good we both ate ourselves into varying degrees of pain, just because we didn't want to stop.

The owner who was also our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable, and genuinely Swiss, so what we got was genuine Swiss fondue (though probably American-sized portions).

The beers they had on tap were great, and the place itself was really nice.

The only problem we had was the woman on the table next to us, who wouldn't stop talking about herself to her date. It was actually quite entertaining laughing about her afterwards, and obviously nothing to do with the restaurant - but she'll definitely help me remember this meal. I can still hear her now, like some kind of inescapable, self-centered tinnitus.

Anyway, back on topic...it was one of the more expensive places we tried in SF, and there are probably better culinary experiences out there, but we really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swiss food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I shared a fondu with cheese and herbs. It was very good, the side salad was good. We went for the extras of apple, sausage, and mushrooms everything was very good tasting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice for a Change”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was something different for a change. I don't think I could handle a steady diet of fondue but everything was very tasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ETJ3822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLOML
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow lucky find for us late at night!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were in our rental car, late at night and literally checking opentable as we were driving and we found this place within a mile and thought it would be great to unwind and eat a longer meal without cramming :)
We were very familiar with Melting Pot from back home and knew the meal would be relaxing, take a long time and be great food and fun and Matterhorn didn't disappoint. One thing to note valet parking only available on the weekends if you are in a car if that matters to you.

We had 3 of us and ordered more than we could really eat, cheese for 3 and then beef for 3 and then added shrimp and pork. Also had some win and their wine list was quite comprehensive. The owner (Bridgette) was very nice seating us and we had a great time chatting with her after our meal was over about restaurants in San Fran. She also advised against ordering more food than we did by saying "too much food, too much" when she could have just "sold us" more. We noticed this.

The good was wonderful and quite tasty and actually in many ways much better than Melting Pot. The fondue is cooked "old style" on a true fondue rig with a sterno which was very cool and like we did it when growing up :) The good was incredible, and the service was top notch and VERY friendly. We were the last ones there and were assured we were not holding them up and instead we had a great conversation with Bridgette and another person working there on suggested restaurants while we were visiting San Fran (some we actually loved). All in all this was a terrific meal for us and if you enjoy fondue it is a can't miss and more authentic than Melting Pot. We would definitely visit again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VLOML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Matterhorn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing