We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top restaurants in San Francisco.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acquerello

Acquerello
Reserve with OpenTable
Acquerello is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $95 - $185
Cuisines: Contemporary, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Polk
Transit: Van Ness Avenue is serviced by Muni bus lines 42,47,and 49. California Street. is serviced by the California Cable Car line. Sacramento Street. is serviced by Muni bus line 1. Polk Street. is serviced by Muni bus line 19.
Description: Acquerello, named for its original watercolors, envelops guests in a warm and gracious atmosphere the moment they arrive. "At Acquerello, we believe that refined luxury is always in style. Our desire is to provide our guests an experience of classic and contemporary Italian tastes in an elegant dining atmosphere." The 40 seat dining room has an upscale and quiet ambiance. The room, designed by John Wheatman, highlights the former chapel, graced with arches and a rustic wood-beamed vaulted ceiling, with warm Mediterranean colors of gold and terracotta. Acquerello's contemporary approach to Italain cuisine combines the freshest ingredients available, an innovative approach to classic Italian flavors, and modern techniques. Guests can design their own three, four or five course dinner with the Prix Fixe Menus or choose to enjoy the preset chef's Seasonal Tasting Menu. Acquerello,in its more than 25 years in operation, has received countless accolades and awards, including a Michelin star in the first-ever 2007 Bay Area guide, two Michelin Stars in 2015, and a Wine Spectator Grand Award for the wine list continuously since 2012.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in San Francisco.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our son treated us to A fabulous 4 course tasting menu for our 50th anniversary. After being seated the waiter delivered a small stool for my purse - great idea! Then arrived a little vodka mix drink to whet our appetites before tiny cheese puffs amuse Busch. Each delicious course, paired with perfect wine, included an elaborate description of the food, background of the wine, by the wait staff and wine expert (how to spell the other name!). I've eaten in best restaurants in the world. This one excelled. They even asked if we had any allergies or food we didn't like. To the waiter's dismay my husband doesn't like vegetables, and wanted French fries! Can you imagine. But his request was handled gracefully with roasted potatoes. I enjoyed yellow fin tuna, and especially the flour less chocolate cake with licorice ice cream. On our way out, we received a nicely wrapped box of biscotti.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    38
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BEST ON THE PLANET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We return to this restaurant a couple of times a year -- only because it is located on the other coast from where we reside. It is amazing. A relatively small facility located in a former chapel, it is intimate and personal. Check out the website. The food is superb fine-dining in the Italian tradition. Not spaghetti or pizza. Wonderful lamb shank, pasta and fresh fish dishes prepared with a real Mediterranean flair. The staff works as a coordinated team, courteous, capable and efficient, delivering all dishes in unison to each table. And, the wine selection is expansive - European and New World - that Wine Spectator gives high marks. The cheese offering is diverse and truly wonderful. And the dessert
We love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Pure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Astonishing Good! Even for San Francisco!
The location is very nice and provides the right atmosphere for the fine dining. The service is friendly and well educated. The sommelier really knows what he is speaking about too.
Last but not least: The food. It is the best I got ever served in SF. The minumum of 3 courses, which u can choose out of many delicous options, might makes ur stomach full, but ur senses will ask for more!
I really recommand this restaurant but dont forget to make a reservation ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Culinary Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Few restaurants in the world can master the complexities of authentic Italian cuisine. I am not talking about veal parmesan or linguine in clam sauce, rather I am discussing Partner/Executive Chef Suzette Gresham's skilled interpretations of Italian fine dining masterpieces. Chef's culinary wizardry is the kind that garners Michelin stars (which Acquerello has received and richly deserves).

I don't want to ruin your dining experience by describing the courses in detail because words are inadequate to properly put the ambiance, food and wine in perspective. I would be doing this magnificent establishment a disservice trying to employ mere words to capture the aromas, flavors, textures and visual appeal which highlight each dish. Suffice it to say that I belong to more than a dozen culinary, wine and chef organizations and this restaurant is one you do not want to miss.

Aside from the food, the wine selection, which is masterfully managed by Partner/GM, Giancarlo Paterlini, can be placed side by side with any of the finest Italian dining spots in the U.S. and come out on top. Their selection of French and California wines are all spectacular and help to comprise the 96 page wine list.

The service was another highlight which the 8 of us noted with grand smiles this evening. Professional, polite and informative only scratches the surface, they (Teresa Wagner in particular) really care that you are having a fantastic dining experience.

Finally, the ambiance, quaint, romantic and classic makes the food, wine and service all a little bit better. In sum, this is the package. All 8 of us thank the entire team for providing us with a Magnificent Memory which we will treasure for the rest of our lives!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allfalkedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very serious eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Food was excellent with interesting combinations. Service is very good, but a little too serious. Decor is spare painted in very rich earth tones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glennopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquerello also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Acquerello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing