We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good steak without breaking the bank”

Izzy's Steaks & Chops
Ranked #378 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Lombard
Transit: 30 Stockton stops on Chestnut St.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good steak without breaking the bank”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Locals recommended we go to Izzy's instead of a pricier option up the road. They were right. The steak and potatoes were as good as we'd had anywhere and the price was much more reasonable. The atmosphere is good as well. Nice decor and great service by waiters in white and black attire. The perfect stop for our last night of a week long vacation in San Francisco.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevenotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    97
    30
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Izzy's again”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I were last in Izzy's twenty some years ago and we had a great experience. This past week on a trip to SoCal we spent the night in San Francisco and decided to try Izzy's again. We were not disappointed. We again had a wonderful experience. Great steaks and sides. We both chose Izzy's potatoes and creamed spinach which complemented the meal. The steaks are both delicious and generous my wife and I could have shared one if we could agree on how beef should be cooked. She's well done and I'm medium rare. It's not often that you return to a place after a number of years and it is as good as you remember. Izzy's was! I don't plan on waiting another twenty years to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A San Francisco Standard”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hadn't been in years, and had family in from out of town so wanted to take them to a San Francisco standard... food was good, service was excellent, but pricey. It's also fun to walk around Chestnut Street with people from out of town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ts_Travel_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner on a Sunday night, its a very nice place in a great location in the Marina. Its was very comfortable and relaxed. If you ask for a both you have more privacy with the energy of the atmosphere. The food was very, the steaks and sides were very filling. You can easily share one steak and the sides with your honey. The staff was very friendly and made us comfortable during our dinner. How can you go wrong with big portions at an affordable price.

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“For the meat”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Well cooked steaks with fine sides.
The service was very kind and helpful.
Good value for your money. I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izzy's Steaks & Chops also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Izzy's Steaks & Chops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing