We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brazen Head

Brazen Head
Ranked #253 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marina District
Description: A Place Worth Finding. A neighborhood establishment since 1980 for Locals and Visitors alike. A full bar featuring very professional bartenders. A wait staff that is very accommodating and informed. A familiar continental cusine with some old school favorites. "You are only a stranger here once"
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Saw this reccommended on TA and as it was just around the corner from our hotel thought we'd give it a go!
The food was very nice but also expensive for what you got.
The room was very small and the tables crammed in.
It was too dark to read the menus and it was very loud and noisey - far from being romantic as described in other reviews!
The staff were friendly.
They take cash only!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The right atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brazen Head gets the atmosphere right was dim lighting (you might need a torch to read the menu) intimate tables and shuttered windows. Steak was nicely cooked and the draft beer, unusually served with lemon, was delicious. All for $40 for one which was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fountaincottage21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar/grill--but no credit cards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I dined here with a client in March 2013

Brazen Head is a great neighborhood bar, with a really intimate feel, like you've stepped back to a time where everyone stops off for a drink between their bus stop and home. It's got a great throwback feel to the Mad Man time of cocktails. It's also just like that in another regard....no plastic. They take cash or a debit card. Amex? Not so much.

So for that reason, I can't rate them better than average. In today's age, taking a credit card isn't hard, my yard guy takes plastic--so the lack of this most basic of amenities surprised me.

That said, the service was fantastic, the barman was great, cocktails were perfect. They had 8 different rye whiskey options, that's amazing. Veal was fantastic. Wine list was really limited. It was made up of good options, and priced reasonably, but was short. And the wine I did order, came out as a different vintage, they were out of the 2007, and subbed the 2008. Same price though....

Would I go back, absolutely. Will I complain when I go back that they don't take plastic, YES!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DulceVida-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old school menu - awesome drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our 4th time here. Love, love the atmosphere. All dark, romantic and kinda old time gangsta feel. Sat at the bar this time and orders apps. Escargot, carpaccio and onion soup. Snails/raw beef was pretty darn good but soup wasn't up to par. Had very little flavor and crouton was a soggy mess.

Bartender/owner was just a delight. Made the best martini I've had in a LONG time. Finished up the night with some port and good conversation.

Have had their dinners before and they're not too bad plus they serve until 1am which is totally cool. Better know where it is because there's no signage outside and they only take cash or debit card.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Intimate , Good food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This small local restaurant one block from Lombard St. is intimate and private. The menu is somewhat limited but the food is very good and the Martinis are excellent. Service was friendly and attentive. Prices very reasonable for an "In Town" restaurant. Just bring cash or a check; they don't accept credit cards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brazen Head also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Brazen Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing