We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food in a lively place”
Review of Frascati

Frascati
Ranked #135 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Hyde & Powell Cable Car line
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a lively place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Eating out together -sending the kids off on their own - we looked for a nicer place too have fine dinner. After a considerable search we ended up at Frascati. They were happy to accept our reservation for 20.30 hrs. We enjoyed a fine meal: duck salad and figgs as starters and halibut and risotto as a mian course. We found the starters to be more creatively composed than the main course (not unusually so). As desert we shared a (1) cheese platter - really nice - accompanied with a glass of madeira and a glass of red wine. We had a bottle of white wine: sancerre and topped it all with espressos. Total expense 200+ dollars. Not exactly cheap, but good value for money and very fine meal in an enjoyable setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoekLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    143
    28
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!! Excellent meal!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The menu and wine list are exquisite. I had the hangar steak and my husband had the duck, both were EXCELLENT!!! The bread pudding for dessert was also to die for. However, the service was a bit lacking.. The guy at the door was super friendly and helpful, but I wouldn't say that our server was overly friendly. She seemed annoyed when we had JUST been seated and weren't yet ready to order. Overall, the food was absolutely delicious and I would highly recommend eating here. It's a really small restaurant, so you will need a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very mediocre, poor risotto”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

There really is not much to write about: it is very bland, very mediocre food, mediocre atmosphere, just nothing special. The food is for anybody who ever visited the Mediterranean below the standard: don't try the risotto, that really doesn't come near any real risotto. Stick to the more American dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amsterdampassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and service to match”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our second night in San Francisco we at here. The food was excellent. I would particularly recommend the Burrata as a starter and the Hangar steak as an entree. My wife and I both enjoyed our meals, but we were also very impressed with the personal attention given to us by our waitress as well as the owner of the restaurant. As out of towners we felt as though we were treated as long time regulars of the restaurant. Our glasses were never empty for long and the attention to detail to food preparation and flavors was truly exceptional. I highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best panna cotta but the service was average”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We went there for dinner while in San Francisco on holiday. Great atmosphere in a good location. Service was ok. The waitress knew nothing about the wine list. The pasta was perfectly cooked but not hot enough. Would have been excellent otherwise. The desert was one of the best ever total cost for two with $50 bottle of wine was around $175.00

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frascati also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Frascati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing