We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“awesome food, very unique!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frascati

Frascati
Reserve with OpenTable
Frascati is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 5,575 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Hyde & Powell Cable Car line
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“awesome food, very unique!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Definitely an authentic, neighborhood restaurant with fabulous food, nice atmosphere, and a reasonable price for high end dishes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345food9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    141
    27
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went to Frascati with friends whilst on holiday in San Francisco & really enjoyed the experience. The restaurant was busy with a great atmosphere, the staff were friendly & efficient, the food was reasonably priced & excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 255AndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a recent trip to the West Coast, my wife and I managed to dodge the kids and have an 18th anniversary dinner. Walking from where we had to park (better to take a cab) was quite an uphill hike, but the dinner more than made up for it. Every single item, including the glasses of wine, was excellent. For starters, I had a delicious octopus salad that is among my 10 favorite dishes ever. My wife had a very good Panzanella. This was followed by Ahi Nicoise for me, and flat iron steak for my wife. The ahi was very fresh and perfectly cooked, and the steak was very tender and tasty. All of the accompaniments were delightful as well. For dessert, we went to opposite ends of the spectrum -- I chose the very rich dark and white chocolate bread pudding (more like a super brownie), and my wife had the delicate and refined panna cotta.

As you will see from reviewing the menu, Frascati is not typically Italian, but more mew american with a Mediterannean influence.

Service was attentive, casual, and friendly, which is what we prefer.

As others jave written, there is a bit of a smoky atmosphere in the room, but I found that it was unobjectionable and soon faded.

Very much a great meal, and even at around $160 (including tip) a great value for a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All around great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent service, including recommendations of both food and wine, set the tone for the evening. Consider trying the roasted chicken which was one of the best I've ever had. For dessert the peach blueberry crisp under vanilla ice cream was divine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I go to Frascati about once a month as we live in the neighborhood. We have never had an average meal here. The food and service are always very good and we love the atmosphere. The owner, John, is also very friendly and accommodating. If you have the chance, sit at the bar and enjoy a great glass of wine or arrive early on a warm day and sit outside. The delicious food, great wine and atmosphere is really intoxicating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frascati also viewed

 

Been to Frascati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing