We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - both times!”
Review of Frascati

Frascati
Ranked #135 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Hyde & Powell Cable Car line
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent - both times!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Returned to Frascati last week for a business dinner. This was my second visit over the course of 24 months, both times I experienced excellent service and delicious meals. This time I had the pork chop, awesome! I also like the smallish atmosphere of this place. I'll return for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    143
    28
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not the best, but very good. I have no idea y the waitress asked if we were splitting the meal? Cause we r Hispanic ? Get used to it sf! ..... And the stairs to the restroom is very narrow...and small.... I slipped :/

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alinama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key biscayne florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“When you Go to San Francisco”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Make sure to wear some flowers in your hair (maybe "borrowed" from Lombard Street), but if you cross Lombard on the Hyde streetcar line over the hill from the bay, keep an eye out for Frescati on your right. Bistro-styled, this jewel of a restaurant serves up exquisite cuisine and a fantastic wine selection, in an intimate, locals-who-know-dine-here atmosphere. My meal began with a Roasted Pear Salad that featured candied walnuts, arugula, Point Reyes Blue Cheese and a superb balsamico. The Maple Leaf Duck Breast, served with Maitake Mushrooms and Huckleberry Sauce was by far (and I sample duck wherever I find it on the menu) the best I've tasted--rich, supple, deliciously marinated and orchestrated. To crown the meal, I was offered perhaps the most delicious Panna Cotta west of the Cittavechia. Oh, and the staff? Well, you are gonna meet some gentle people there....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeyBiscayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Loved the steak tartare and the grilled halibut, and my teenagers also found things they enjoyed. And great service too - definitely my favorite place to eat in San Francisco for my recent trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here late on a Thursday night after a long flight. Seating was comfortable and the space was cozy and warm. Managed to convince my dinner partner to share the sardine app with me. Usually I can only get my cat to join me for such things. We both agreed it was tasty. Greens served with it and a simple salad were fresh and lightly dressed. Main courses filet mignon and pan seared halibut were well presented and delicious. Finally the Meyer lemon sponge cake with blueberry compote was excellent and the perfect end to the meal. I would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frascati also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Frascati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing