We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frascati

Frascati
Reserve with OpenTable
Frascati is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: Hyde & Powell Cable Car line
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right on the Hyde Street trolley line makes this a fun place to get to. The food is California nouvelle cuisine with a splash of Meditteranean. Everything is prepared fresh daily and the menu is interesting and varied like grilled octopus salad, gnochi with wild mushrooms and squash, ahi tuna crusted with peppercorns. The wine list is also exceptional.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ger203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    143
    28
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Read the reviews and felt lucky to get a reservation for my husband's birthday. Started with the mushroom soup (very good) and figs with blue cheese and prosciutto (fair, very small figs, very little blue cheese served on toast that was burnt- disappointed as we order this appetizer at local restaurant in Clayton CA and there they are delicious). At this point I'm thinking just an off dish. My husband ordered the pork chop and it was undercooked and fatty. I had the mushroom risotto which was nicely flavored but over priced at $22 for a dish that is basically a scoop of rice with mushrooms. The desert was good, a peach berry cobbler served warm with vanilla ice cream on top but this couldn't save the overall impression of the night. By the way, parking is a nightmare. Cost us $15 to vallet park at Walgreens after driving the neighborhood for almost 1/2 hour. Even if we could park right in front, the food was just average. We won't be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Awesomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Where to sit for the best dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Frascati is a gem. Don't miss it, but be sure to sit where you can maximize your enjoyment. When I enter Frascati I am immediately confronted by the wonderful smell of garlic, along with a glimpse of the activities in the kitchen. For me, at least, the key to greatest enjoyment is being seated upstairs, along the balcony rail, where one can look directly down into the kitchen and see meals being prepared and enjoy the unward drift of garlic aroma, which I love. This is a restaurant with terrific service (attentive, knowledgeable), great cuisine, and an excellent wine list, at reasonable prices, in a Russian Hill neighborhood that is terrific.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frascati”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Found this restaurant on Tripadvisor. Otherwise I would never have found it. It is a small restaurant on Hyde. It is on the Powell-Hyde streetcar line but it does not have a large sign so it is easily missed. We got a reservation quickly for 8:00. Cost by taxi is the same as taking the streetcar. We had the wild mushroom risotto which was excellent and a broiled fish dish also excellent. However, the Bread Salad was quite undistinguished. We had a berry cobbler for dessert - also excellent. Service was very good and quick quick. However, I'd say there wasn't a lot of atmosphere. It is small and cozy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoelN701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tucked in a neighborhood-can ride to it by cable car”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I love getting to a local restaurant when I visit a city--away from the crowds and a bit off the beaten path. Frascati is just such a place and not to be missed. I had the pear salad with blue cheese, arugula and candied pecans with reduced balsamic dressing-delicious. My husband had the mission fig salad-also wonderful. For dinner, fresh paparadelle for him and tuna for me. My tuna was incredibly tender. For dessert, an amazingly light panecotta. (the menu changes daily)Waitress was knowledgeable and efficient--never felt rushed at all. Reservations are a must. And for a treat, we rode the cable car back to the hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frascati also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Frascati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing