We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THe best of everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Gary Danko

Restaurant Gary Danko
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gary Danko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THe best of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Everything was great! Great atomosphere, great service and great food. This place is a must when visiting San Francisco. Thye go the extra mile to make the evening special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,676
    283
    132
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good, but manage your expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked GD 3 months in advance as you have to if you don't want to eat at 4pm or midnight! I suppose that's the start of the problem as the expectations build. Don't get me wrong this place is "very good" but by international standards it just doesn't rank. The entrance point is not very welcoming and we found ourselves in the bar area looking around with nobody to seat us. Also busy waiters walking by you, but nobody stopping to see if you want a drink or even better a table to be seated. It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed it, but I'm surprised it is rated as San Frans top restaurant, more a reflection of the competition than the restaurant itself. Well worth a visit just not worth the hype.....and a shame booking it is such a nightmare

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatG657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The menu was wonderful - a lot of selection, including vegetarian items - and the wine list was outstanding. It was by far the best service we experienced whilst in California. The only thing that was not great was the proximity to the diners on either side of us. I was sitting closer to the stranger next to me than I was to my husband who was across the table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlissaJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS EXPERIENCE FOR OUR 40TH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I went to this beautiful restaurant for our 40th and it was definitely a meal to remember! Delicious food served elegantly and a beautiful cozy restaurant to savor our time there.Service was wonderful and the chocolate souffle alone was worth going for! Would highly recommend it! Make sure you make reservations well in advance--for us that meant weeks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An extremely safe bet for fine dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

You have to love Gary for being such a stable safe harbor of fine dining! The service is impeccable and the food is always classic and dependable. And the bar is great if you don't have reservations but you just need to show up at opening and it will all be fine!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gary Danko also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Restaurant Gary Danko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing