We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great Bourdain recommendation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Prime Rib

House of Prime Rib
Reserve with OpenTable
House of Prime Rib is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: Washington St.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another great Bourdain recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate here last year and the food is really very good. I am not a huge fan of family style dining, but my wife and I had plenty to eat, and the Prime Rib as spectacular. The service was exceptional and it really is a dining experience that you should have if you are going to SF. I think our dinning was around 90 dollars without wine and I thought that the value was very good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    321
    120
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, fantastic service and great theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a night! We had a small it at the beginning, perhaps 10 minutes even with a booking but as soon as we sat down this became a perfect evening. Our waiter Richard was beyond excellent. The food was superb but please take note when everyone says go hungry, because its effectively one course you think you will be fine but the amount of food is incredible. The decor is old fashioned, its meant to be, but its not a dirty old fashioned, just dark wood...lots of theatre...food made at the table and its all part of the fun. The beef was like butter and worth every penny. Try this place, its very USA and a great night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had heard so much about this place. The food was good. The place is outdated. I know we like old school places but it doesn't mean it cant be updated to look better. The service is a bit on the arrogant side which I didn't get why. There is no reason for that type of behavior.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“best tasting prime rib ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

you had better like prime rib because that's the only meat served. casual dress, very good wines by the glass also. They bring a loaf of fresh baked sour dough bread. You have to have the salad just for the way they prepare it. A large bowl filled w/ ice w/ your salad in a smaller bowl to keep it chilled. They spin your salad & add salt & pepper & spin it again & add the excellent house dressing. then they toss the salad & serve it on a chilled plate & give you a chilled fork. tasted as good as it looked. When ready for the beef, they push over a large cart w/ a domed lid & the chef carves the meat at your table. the sides are delicious also from potatoe ( mashed or baked), creamed corn or spinach, & yorkshire pudding. If your not quite full, they will slice another small piece of beef for you. Cara, our excellant waitress suggested a dessert of choclate cake, chocolate mouse, & cheese cake w/ a rasberry sauce ( save room its worth the calories). A great dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edward02494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Make a reservation well in advance of your trip, you'll be glad you did! If you love red meat you'll love The House of Prime. No extra charge for the side dishes, a great value for a really terrific meal.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KristieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Prime Rib also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to House of Prime Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing